Bagged It!

Last night I will admit that I “bagged” dinner. It’s pretty rare these days that I will take something frozen and heat it up for dinner but I couldn’t resist picking up some Trader Joe’s Mandarin Orange Chicken. It’s really good for a frozen meal and I’d like to think that with a side of edamame beans, eating it every once in a while is OK. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare with rice and the beans just needed boiling. Not exactly my top post on “dining” but hey-it was Monday, I was tired and this was still so good.

TJ’s Mandarin Orange Chicken

I heated the chicken and the sauce up in our wok and boiled the beans for 5 minutes. I had some sesame seeds on hand so I added them to the mix. Easy Peasy! I had plenty of beans leftover so I decided to take them with me for a snack at work. These will come in handy this afternoon!

I’m going to take extra precaution with what I eat today as well as drinking plenty of water. I have my weekly Tuesday night run with some people from work and the last thing I want is to look like a wimp. Generally the group will do a long 6 mile run at the park where the trails are anything but flat.

I was feeling dessert last night….

The seasons have officially clicked and therefore I have been craving some apple crisp. I love love love this dessert. It might be my favorite. It’s easy to make and so satisfying. I tried out a new recipe but I have to say I like this one better.

Warm Apple Crisp

(Recipe from The Food Network)

Ingredients:

  • 6 McIntosh apples, peeled and diced into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground or freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour or fine graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1 pint vanilla ice cream

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a 9 by 12 baking dish, combine apples, lemon juice, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar. In a small bowl, mix flour or graham cracker crumbs, brown sugar and butter together using the tines of a fork and your fingers, working until even, small crumbles form. Sprinkle topping evenly over apples and bake 15 to 20 minutes until apples are just tender and topping is golden brown. Top dishes of apple crisp with small scoops of vanilla ice cream. YUM!

One last thing that was bagged last night was the Braves by the SF Giants! They now are progressing on to the NCLS where they will play the Phillies! Sorry to all my Georgia friends but GO SAN FRAN!!

(photo source-SI.com)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on October 12, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Hey chicken is protein and with as hard as you work, you’re allowed to have your chicken with a little yumminess on it! I wish you could come cook for me!

    Reply

  2. Haha-thanks! If you moved down here I would cook for you all the time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment