My Dirty Thirty Bucket List

I know I just turned 27  but I’m a “list” person and while I made my “Dirty Thirty Bucket List” a while ago, I still glance at it from time to time. I’m not moving as quickly through the list as I would like but I thought I would share it with you guys anyway…

Run a Half Marathon

See the Sistine Chapel in Italy

Stand in a red phone booth in London

Take a mother/daughter and father/daughter vacation

Get my MBA

Marry my dream man (almost there!)

Have a child with my dream man

Become a triathlete

Learn to Ski

Learn to play the guitar

Own all the Beatle albums

Sing Karaoke

Go parasailing

Ride a mechanical bull

Learn to shoot a gun

Go on a cruise

Go on a cross-country road trip

See the Grand Canyon

Go to Oktoberfest in Munich Germany

Walk across the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco

See Mount Rushmore

Climb up the Stature of Liberty

Visit Disney World and Disney Land

See the Eiffel Tower

Take up photography

Take a cooking class

Learn to Garden

Watch the 10 greatest American movies of all time (as ranked by the AFI)

Build a Habitat for Humanity Home

Volunteer at a soup kitchen

Mentor someone at work

Get an article published in Glamour/Cosmopolitan or Self

Act a part in a play

Start a Blog

Learn Italian

Swim with Dolphins

Dance on a bar

Go to Spring Training in AZ

Visit Chicago with Betsy

Wine Taste in Napa

Purchase a really nice, expensive piece of furniture

Learn to change a tire

Frame and Hang my Degree

Own a home

Plant a tree

Go to Lollapalooza, Coachella and Bonnaroo

Raise money for a charity

Climb a Mountain (even if it just Crowder’s)

Some of these I plan to knock off this year but others (like the travling) I’m trying to save for. Some of you might call my list “anal” but I like to keep track of goals and how I’m choosing to live my life. It really helps to quiet the anxiety that sometimes lives in me. In a dream sceneario I would leave this earth scarred and worn down, having taken advantage of everything it has to offer-and sometimes I need a list to remind me of that.

Do any of you have lists that you have made? What do they have on them??

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea Ervay on January 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    I think this is great, Claire! I’m a “list” person too, and I think I might make my own. I have a vision board, but I really need to make a bucket list – and I like the push to get it finished by 30 (just around the corner! yikes). Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on January 27, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I love your list! I have one of stuff I want to do at some point, saved as a note in my phone and I add to it when I think of something. So far: *skydiving
    *dine in the dark
    *parasailing
    *swim with dolphins
    *hot air balloon ride

    Reply

  3. we can probably cross “swim with dolphins” off our list when we go to Mexico!

    Reply

  4. Posted by kristin on January 28, 2011 at 2:56 am

    ok lets make some dates. i would love to help you cross these things off your list!:

    -take a cooking class
    -climb a mountain
    -watch the 10 greatest american movies of all time (i know, i hate movies but this is more cultural!)
    -volunteer at a soup kitchen
    -plant a tree

    perhaps summer 2011 goals? 🙂

    Reply

  5. Sounds like a plan! Summer 2011 goals! I think the hardest thing on here would be to take a cooking class, everything else we could accomplish weekend by weekend! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

