Good-bye Dairy

Hi there bloggers and readers! Sorry if my last post was a teaser, but you’ll be happy to know that I have still been reading, I just have had no time for posting…so here we go!

Still reading The Beauty Detox Solution and WOW is all I have to say. I’m totally sucked into this book and everything the author is teaching me about food.

It’s kind of scary realizing all that you don’t know, and realizing what you do know, isn’t much and quite frankly completely skewed.

Rewinding a bit…I opted to work a cheer-leading competition all day on Saturday for some easy money.  I was up at 5:15 am and worked till about 7:00 pm and basically went right to bed once I was done. After being on my feet and watching what had to be well over 100 competitions all dubbed with the same pop music blaring, I was exhausted=no post.  Just look at some of the line-up….

It continues on the next page-yikes!

I did have one proud moment…my sister and most of her UNCC teammates are on a competitive team so I was able to watch them, they did so great!

Sunday I slept in and it felt good. My body slept like a rock, it was a little hard to get up and get moving. I was supposed to work the same event on Sunday but opted out and gladly let another girl take my place.  Instead I read some more of my book (I’m way past the intended chapters) did a little yoga (stretching more frequently is one of my New Year Resolutions) and went grocery shopping.

Boy has that become a harder task since reading Kimberly’s book! In case you are wondering she suggests living a more vegan lifestyle than I’m use to I have ever experienced. However, her research alone has scared me away from dairy, point-blank. Which if you are a follower, you know how much my oats, fruit and yogurt concoction is going to be missed. 😦

No Milk. No cheese. No animal by-products really…

and this tiiiinnnnyyy little section is where I can get some organic. This unfortunately is not going to cut it so I’ll probably have to make more trips to TJ’s.

After spending more than a 1/3 of my grocery money on produce, I ventured off to get some things for Chris. This change is going to be interesting within the household to say the least. While I preach to Chris the practices I’m learning about, I think it’s going to take him more than words on a page.

I’d like to be clear that I’m not starting the detox just yet. I still want to complete the entirety of the book so I can be better assured that I won’t make a mistake and that longevity is my friend. On a personal level, I just can’t really fathom eating any dairy anymore after what I’ve read. I still plan on eating meat for the next few weeks as I’m not starting the official detox till a week from today and even then she transitions you out, or at least gets you down to only eating it 2 nights a week, if you prefer.

This book is changing my life, the outcome is yet to be seen but it sure is powerful.

Let me highlight a few of the things in Chapters 2 and 3, I believe that will suffice for tonight’s post.

  • I’ve learned what causes us to age and how it can be avoided and reversed just by our diets
  • Also, the single most important way to redirect large amounts of energy to make weight loss efficient and fight aging is freeing up energy from digestion.
  • A food that takes the quickest time to digest=the healthiest for you and vice versa.
  • I’ve been taught the proper way to eat and it’s not every three hours…and breakfast isn’t the healthiest meal of the day (according to your stomach).

For more info on Kimberly Snyder’s book, go here.

In order to get a jump-start on Kimberly’s program, I made it a little easier on myself by doing a lot of prep work after the grocery store.

Here you will see spinach washed and separated for salad use and green smoothies, cucumbers, celery  sticks, apple slices for (sandwiches snacks and salads), red and green bell peppers chopped up and lastly, some iceberg and romaine lettuce.

I also am attempting to get my taste-buds use to Silk Milk (hey, it’s an alternative for things right?) Does anyone else notice the distinct difference in color from the actual glass to the advertisement. This will take some getting use to.

Hope to try her green smoothie in the morning after an early gym session-if all goes according to plan. I could potentially sleep in till the last second and go to work with my hair wet. Not uncommon for a Monday 😉

How were your weekends? Have you ever tried a detox or cleanse before??

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea on January 17, 2011 at 5:32 am

    I sometimes buy almond milk and use that in cereal and smoothies. I like the Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze… 1 cup has 40 calories, 3.5 grams of fat, and 2 carbs. It’s not bad.

    Reply

  2. I might have to try that, the Silk was is a little too sweet and it’s been hard to get use to!

    Reply

  3. I also recommend almond milk. I buy the unsweetened plain for use in oatmeal, overnight oats and smoothies. I can’t drink it plain though – bleh. I have cut back on dairy but won’t give it up.

    I’m glad you are learning so much from this book but just be mindful to make sure that you are getting your daily allotment of calcium and vitamin D in if you are giving up dairy. Those are two things that are definitely important for the longevity of your bones.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Thanks Jen! Maybe Almond milk will suit my tatste-buds better! Giving up Dairy is hard 😦 It’s still too early to tell if I can continue to be die-hard about this new diet. But the book is def. educational!

    Reply

  5. Try almond milk! It’s pretty tasty. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I have been on a vegetarian (less meat) kick – but no regiman to it. Your blog has made me want to get the Beauty Detox Solution – I’m off to the book store tomorrow! THanks and I love reading your blog!

    Reply

  7. Thank you for your support! I really appreciate it. The book isn’t out just yet…I think it’s available in April! But it’s really interesting and a good buy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

