The Tree vs. Me

Me and the Tree had quite the showdown.

To say that taking down a Christmas tree isn’t as fun as putting it up, is the understatement of the year…so far.

Everytime I thought I was done, I kept finding ANOTHER strand of lights that just happened to be so intertwined that I was literally thinking of just cutting the strand with scissors to be done with it!

What?…I can always just buy new $4 lights next year.

I didn’t give up. Eventually, I won (sans scissors) but there was major loss of limbs.

After all of the shredding and finger plucking I was ready for some food! A homemade pizza was sounding really good so I fell back on a great recipe I got from a friend earlier in the year, Buffalo-style Chicken Pizza.

With some shredded chicken breast, ranch, hot sauce and mozzarella cheese-this hit the spot. Full disclosure: I ate this while getting sucked into “The Craigslist Killer” on Lifetime. It was bad. I want my two hours of life back…

For the recipe, click here.

It wasn’t the greatest day yesterday, even aside from the tree fight. Being back at work was busy and hectic, wedding pressure is brewing and to top it off I haven’t been to the gym in days. My body has slept like a rock and it’s telling me that rest is what it needs at the moment. My early morning work-outs have been minimal but I’m going to Group Power tomorrow night, yay! One good thing that did come out of the day, came from trusty UPS…

My monitor for the office came!

I’m off to hook it up, but hope you guys had great Monday’s!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea on January 4, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    While I do love the scent of a live tree, the best thing I ever did to make things easier during the holidays was buy an artifical, pre-lit tree. That thing is so easy to put up and take down!

    The pizza looks delicious! Do you make your own crust? When we make pizza at home, I usually just buy the whole wheat Boboli crust and it is really good.

    Reply

  2. Me too, I don’t know if I could ever get a faux tree but honestly this year…I was tested.

    The pizza IS delicious and so easy. We use the Boboli crust too, so much faster to make that way. I’m not ready to start doing my “own” dough, but maybe in 2011! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Your pizza looked super yummy.

    I had a small tree and I didn’t have trouble with the lights but once I took it down…oh the pine needles. What a mess.

    Reply

  4. Pine needles are the price we may 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

