Christmas Recap!

First and foremost I would like to say that while living @ the mall over the holidays, it was impossible to avoid this:

Truth be told, an orange julius and a massage chair in the mall is about as close as you can get to heaven on a 15 minute break. Working retail is really bad around the holidays and I just hope now that the worst is behind us, I can continue to be put on the schedule because the extra money is definitely outweighing the effort of a second job, believe it or not.

This job has to be temporary because other than the lack of cooking, work-outs being pushed to the morning oh and the pure exhaustion that I’m feeling, the snack habits that could form from working in the mall are just glorious dangerous…Exhibit A.

After working Christmas Eve, I was itching to get home because my family was over at our house and since I had to work my awesome hubs-to-be went grocery shopping, set out cheese platters, finished cooking dinner and was entertaining by the time I got home. I walked right in to a glass of red wine. I was a happy, but tired girl.

Chris’s roast was so good! We had some broccoli and rolls on the side and I tried to contain my mashed potatoes addiction.

Ben sat right next to me 🙂

After dinner we all sat around to digest the food. We exchanged presents and Chris “read” to Ben. hehe

With all the excitement that was had at the house, Daisy was tuckered out.

With all the presents under the tree you’d think it would be hard to sleep, but this 2-job girl was exhausted. I went to bed pretty much right after everyone left and was looking forward to the next day when I could finally do NOTHING.

CHRISTMAS DAY!

I woke up around 7:30 on Christmas but chose to lay in bed and wait till about 9:00 to get up. After that I had to wait patiently as Chris made some coffee before ripping into the presents! Santa and our family were very good to us this year. I feel very blessed! I recieved the Uggs that I was lusting after, some great cookbooks, silk-screen napkins, a waffle maker, our Vera Wang knife and cake server off our registry along with some other great stuff!!

On Christmas Eve, Chris let me know that as a gift to each other he was going to finally let me makeover our office! This was probably one of my favorite gifts…I’ve had a great time doing it and I can’t wait to show everyone how it turned out in tomorrow’s post!

Here is a sneak peeeeek!

After present opening I made a huge (unpictured) breakfast of pancakes, sausage, bacon and eggs. I tried to use portion control since there was no way I was missing out on any of that. From there we pretty much did nothing.

As much as I want “nothing” it is a hard concept for my mind and body to get on board with.

Something my body can  always gets on board with is Crab Legs! This is one of Chris’s favorite meals and we try to eat it whenever it’s on sale or when we just want to nix nutrition and grub out…

We had some leftover Mashed potatoes with these and a salad. We also enjoyed watching the movie “Elf” while we ate. 🙂 Gotta love the holidays.

(source)

After the movie, I enjoyed a nice glass of Tempranillo red wine and called it a night. It was a great, lazy Christmas, just as we had hoped it would be!

….AND IT’S OVER.

The lazy holiday spirit was yanked pretty quick from under me when I had to work the day after at 9:30. But I did open my door to this beautiful sight!

I just love it when it snows! It was great snow too. Not too icy and definitely fluffy! It covered everything!!!!

When I got out of work the only thing on my agenda was to get the office together. Chris had already woke up early to make the trip to Ikea and was putting our desks and bookshelves together, all that was left to do was decorate…

Enter Claire.

(more on this in tomorrow’s post)

Moving on to Monday, it was nice to be back at the job that I actually love. Although I didn’t start this week off on in a great way. You’d think I was still in holiday mode with a chocolate pop-tart and some hot cocoa. Whoooops! This is truly due to lack of grocery shopping and needing something to WARM me up!

For lunch I had my mother’s creamy ham and eggs concoction. Has anyone ever tried this? It has to be the worst thing on the planet for you, but it was delcious.  This is straight-up comfort food. I only had a small portion, but it was gooooood.

After work I was excited to go see my friends Carmen, Sarah and Marinda. It doesn’t quite feel like the holidays without seeing the friends you call family. Carmen and her growing brood came up from Atlanta and any chance to see her and the baby, I take. Instead of the normal Cuban food I have grown accustomed to eating when I visit, her sister Andrea made some wonderful Italian.

To put the final nail in the coffin for a day of bad eating, I happily grabbed a plate and dove into the most amazing pasta and stuffed shells!

This food was great (garlic bread not pictured, but definitely enjoyed)! Thanks again Andrea for the awesome food!!!!

There may have been a few ginger cookies for dessert but I don’t have any documentation of that. If you can’t see it, it didn’t happen right? After much talking, laughing and wine drinking it was time to call it a night. The next time we’ll all be together probably won’t be till April at my Bachelorette party!

Where’s the dashing in this post you ask? Nowhere to be found! The gym was closed, the roads were icy and it was the holidays 🙂

Don’t fret, I’m back on the bandwagon and should have some tid-bits from group power for you at a later date! Hope everyone was as irresponsible as I was over Christmas… it’s truly needed every once in a while. Now back to the grind, fruit & oats for breakfast and sweating out the desserts!!!

Leave a Reply

