Chistmas Sugar High!

It’s almost Christmas!

I’m ready to have a few days off work and to be forced to stay home in my p.j.’s for a change. Nothing will be open so therefore Chris and I usually make a grand breakfast and watch movies on the couch all day.

Don’t ya just love traditions!?

I’ll spare you the picture of my weekly breakfast, I’m pretty sure all my readers have grown tired of seeing my apple cinnamon goodness shots.

We had our company Christmas Luncheon yesterday and the meal was surprisingly above average. I always find it so hard to get mass-produced meals to be quality, but this came pretty close.

Then came the onslaught of desserts…my company had a dessert contest so almost every one came armed with their favorite and I was eager to try as many as I could.

After all that snacking, I was completely stuffed and thankful that my new-found love for the gym was back-because I need to work some of this off!

Yesterday while I was shopping for our Christmas cards (don’t worry, they got sent out) I picked up a Women’s Daily magazine and was thoughtfully reminded of a blogger’s feature published in the mag for Egg Land’s live Well Challenge.

It’s hard to tell but that is Tina Haupert of Carrots ‘N’ Cake!

Dinner was super un-creative and quick. I was so tired yesterday due to the gym. All this working out again is going to take some getting used to. I was getting quite comfortable becoming a couch potato.

Chorizo and Eggs

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1/3 cup chopped onions (green, red, or yellow onions) optional
  • 1/4 lb of Mexican chorizo sausage, removed from sausage casing (I used turkey sausage)
  • 5 to 6 eggs
  • Salt
  • Tortillas – optional
  • Cilantro – optional
  • Directions:

    Heat a large skillet on medium high heat. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in the pan. Add the chopped onions (optional) and cook until softened. Once softened, move to the side of the pan and add break up bits of chorizo into the pan. Use a wooden spatula to break up the pieces of sausage. Add the raisins. Stir until the sausage is cooked through, though not necessarily browned. If you are not using lean chorizo, drain the excess fat from the pan before proceeding. If you are not using lean chorizo, you may want to cook the chorizo first, draining the excess fat, then remove to a plate while you cook the onions in the remaining

     Crack the eggs one at a time, into the pan. Break the yolks and stir the eggs into the sausage. Add a light sprinkling of salt. Stir constantly until the eggs begin to set, but are still moist. Remove from heat.

    Serve immediately with a side of warmed corn tortillas and cilantro as a garnish.

    GIVING BACK!!!!!!!!

    If anyone still has some holiday shopping to do, I have a stellar suggestion on where to buy that your friends & family are sure to love! Christmas has become beyond materialistic these days so I always love when I can find a company where it pays in more ways than one to shop with!

    Enter GreenHeart!

    Greenheart is Chicago’s premier eco-fair trade non-profit shop, carrying both fair trade and eco friendly products. Greenheart carries a variety of goods including recycled accessories and handbags, home goods, gourmet treats, cookbooks, glassware, jewelry, toys, personal care, organic cotton t-shirts and more. Greenheart believes consumers have the power to affect positive World change by supporting sustainable and fair business practices in their purchasing choices.

    5 responses to this post.

    1. Another great post.. everything looks yummy.. I am so hungry now lol

      Reply

    2. Posted by Megan Crocker on December 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

      You didn’t enter in your work’s dessert contest??

      Reply

    3. I actually didn’t 😦 I was too busy but it was a nice after thought, maybe next time! Miss you, hope you are doing well!

      Reply

    4. Posted by Michelle C on December 19, 2010 at 12:00 am

      Im soooo letting myself go over the holidays, and Those dessert pics aren’t helping! Haha. I need motivation:( I’m tempted to come down there so you can whip my butt back into shape!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

