We Meet Again!

I made it to the gym last night! It was my first time back in weeks but after reading a Meals and Miles post the other day, I finally got the motivation. I am so HAPPY I did because I left feeling great.

I’ve noticed a trend in posts this morning in the healthy living community (at least the ones I read) about a runners body vs. a strength-training body. I must admit that since I have taken up running more regularly I have not been as happy with my body 😦 I think I have gained around 10-15 pounds and while some of the extra lb’s must be muscle I don’t feel nearly as toned as I did this time last year.

Just look at the difference. Last year I was in the gym 3x a week in preparation for our Caribbean cruise. I did very little running.

…and now (albeit I’m a ton whiter and that makes a small difference) I’m not nearly as “fit” or so it would seem.

(I realize I’m tailgating in this picture but trust me, there was no shortage of that last year)

My jeans are hardly fitting and I just feel so heavy. This could be due to the fact that I’m not getting enough aerobic itensity out of my runs but honestly, I think my body just flourishes more with strength training. This is not to say I’m cutting out cardio all together, I just need to incorporate more of what I was doing in the past, and not soley rely on runs.

I think people have to find what works best for them and after last night’s gym session, it was oh so clear that I want to be back more regularly. This is what works for me:

  • 7-10 minute warm-up on the Elliptical
  • 20-25 minutes circulating on the machines, either working on legs or arms
  • 10 minute ab-work-out conisting of 130 crunches
  • 20 minute cardio: 5 minute warm-up, 10 minute run, 5 minute cool down

Last night, I even caught the spread in Glamour on Reese Witherspoon during my warm-up!

I know some people don’t love the idea of working out in a gym, but I’m not one of them. I find it satisfying and like to people watch. They have good tunes playing without having to use my i-pod and most importantly…it’s warm.

Backtracking a bit, I had my normal breakfast-last photo, I promise. I’m switching it up a bit next week.

Oats, yogurt, apple slices and cinnamon.

For lunch, Chris packed me an awesome lunch using our leftovers.

I love how he used the compartments in the Tupperware so wisely. That brownie for dessert fit in there perfectly! Thanks hubs!

On to dinner, this was Chris’s concoction. He called it “Chicken with Strange Sauce.” All I could make-out were the mushrooms, onions and capers but it was pretty darn good. He likes to boast he does not use recipes.

After dinner me and Daisy sat on the couch and watched Finding Nemo. I am pretty sure I fell asleep on the couch arond 9:00pm.

That is what going back to the gym will do to you! Can’t wait to hit up a Group Power class tonight!

What works best for you when it comes to exercising? When do you feel at your peak?

Leave a Reply

