Apple Cinnamon Goodness.

So I am pretty obsessed with the breakfast I’ve been eating all week. I know it might get boring to show you a constant collage of oats and yogurt in Tupperware on a daily basis, so I will try to at least switch up the fruit next week. But that is all I can promise because this breakfast makes me happy 🙂

Oats, yogurt, a sliced up apple with some cinnamon….so tasty in the mornings.

Since it’s been so freezing out I have been pairing it with some good ol’ hot chocolate (since I don’t do coffee).

I met up with my cousin for lunch (a rare and special treat), we don’t get to see each other as often as I would like. We opted for some sushi and while I tried to order the miso soup to refrain from eating too much…

the “special” happened. I just can’t contain myself when it comes to sushi. It’s one of my all-time favorite foods.

Back at the office, it’s literally getting dangerous the amount of sweets circulating. I tried to refrain from diving into the HR supply of chocolate baskets but could not resist a white-chocolate covered pretzel. I’m a sucker for white chocolate.

Didn’t go to the gym on Tuesday either. Just didn’t do it. I’m boycotting doing anything that involves going outside: checking the  mail, driving to the gym, I’ve even pondered the likelihood of getting Daisy to walk herself.

Dinner was a jambalaya inspired meal. I wanted something comforting but at the same time, wasn’t a lot of work. I had some turkey sausage in the fridge so I decided use that. I sautéed some onions and threw it in a Trader Joe’s brown rice medley. So easy, SO good. I’m going to add it to the winter rotation of meals.

With an Eat. Pray. Love mentality still on my mind, I decided to make some guilt-free brownies.

Recipe courtesy of All Recipes.

These were so good, I licked the bowl and didn’t even feel bad about it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, and vanilla. Beat in eggs. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt; gradually stir into the egg mixture until well blended. Stir in walnuts, if desired. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the brownie begins to pull away from edges of pan. Let cool on a wire rack before cutting into squares.

January is going to be rough. 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. I got stuck on the brownie picture lol.. nice post

    Reply

  2. […] keeping with the theme-you can guess what I ate for breakfast yesterday morning…this and for lunch it was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

