Struggling with your Goals

One of the things I was most adamant about when I started this blog was that I didn’t want to only talk about things I was doing right. I wanted this blog to be relatable to my readers and give people some hope that even when you stumble, it’s never too late to pick yourself back up, dust yourself off and keep trying. Some blunders have been opting for the double-bacon cheeseburger, with fries mind you, over the wrap. Currently, it’s realizing I’m not ready for Thunder Road.

I am a wanna-be runner. I want to be better. I want to run longer, faster and enjoy it more than I do. But the truth is I struggle with it tremendously.It’s a serious love/hate relationship that I don’t take lightly and am constantly trying to strive to be better at.

I like to run most days but honestly hate to run others. It’s inconsistent and due to that inconsistency I am not able to run the upcoming half-marathon. I could go out there and run/walk it, post on my blog how much I enjoyed it (which I probably would) but I would also be falsifying my journey.

The bottom line- I’m not ready to push my body to run 13 miles. I’m nowhere close to even having any competitive edge in the race.

After being disappointed in myself, I realized that this is no one’s race but mine. I don’t have to run the race for my friends who are participating, for this blog, for anyone but myself. I might not run this race or have trained well enough to attempt it, but I know one day I will run a half-marathon. It’s just not going to be on Saturday. I am however putting my best foot forward and running the 5k. I figure I can try and beat my time from the Rock N’ Read 5k I did a few months ago. Plus, I have a lot of friends participating in this race and I would LOVE to cheer them on. They are my heroes…serious runners, and trust me, that takes a lot.

Now enough self-loathing (because that’s only OK in small doses)

Friday was a good day! First of all it was the end of the week. I had my overnight oats with a double-whammy of jam.

For lunch I went out to Zaxby’s. They have one salad that I actually don’t mind ordering. It is so good and filling! Their chicken is good and it’s pretty affordable when I want to eat lunch out of the office.

After work I met up with some co-workers for a little Happy Hour. We have been going to Duckworths lately for their awesome selection of draft beers.

When I got home I didn’t feel like making a big meal so I just scrounged up some spinach, mushrooms and provolone cheese to make quesadillas with.

Saturday there was no time messing around with breakfast. A quick bowl of cereal was had before some serious Christmas shopping.

Lunch was our very own home-made Panera 😉

After that, Chris and I opted to not get our Christmas tree due to the freezing rain so instead I begged him to go to Best Buy so we could buy Eclipse! I know I’m a twelve-year old when it comes to the Twilight series, but I can’t help it. I’m a sucker for romance movies with insane soundtracks.

Sunday Chris and I both woke feeling under the weather. We are convinced we caught something on the plane to San Francisco, that or all the traveling and cold weather is finally getting to us…

I opted for some power-fruit in hopes that it would make me feel better for breakfast.

For lunch I had leftovers that needed to be eaten or they were going to have to  be thrown out. I reheated some quinoa and brussels sprouts and added some avocado and greek yogurt to the mix.

With the cold weather I was craving some soup so Chris made me some New England clam chowder with a toasted tuna-sandwich on the side. Perfect. Especially since I didn’t even have to make it!

I’m going to work on a realistic plan for myself for some upcoming races. Other than that I think I’m going to take some solace in my Group Power that I love so much as well as things that are more feasible for me to do to keep active through the colder months. Stay tuned to see what I can come up with!

Have you guys ever felt like you failed a fitness goal? What about a trying to stick to healthy eating? A girl could really use a pep talk about now… 😉

Leave a Reply

