Touchdown!

OK, the title of this post may be a little misleading.

I am excited about a girl’s idea of a touchdown. As in, I was having a wedding dress fiasco and now it is resolved, kind of touchdown!

I originally bought this dress-

While it is pretty, I ordered it in champagne which I later regretted. Also, after more research I realized that organza was in fact the better material to use for a destination wedding. I have been frantic trying to sell it and it finally SOLD yesterday!

Now I have the money to get the dress I’ve fallen in love with! Here is a sneak peek-

For breakfast yesterday I decided to finally try “overnight oats.” They never really sounded great to me but I’m always looking for a way to have a quick and easy breakfast and I am constantly having to switch it up so I don’t grow tired of it. I stumbled across this raw description of overnight oats here.

I really didn’t have too much for “toppings” so I settled with some jam. It was good but I still need to experiment with different combinations.

What are some of your favorite breakfasts? What about combinations for Overnight Oats?

Lunch was a plain chicken sandwich with spinach, a little mayo and red onion. I had Kashi crackers on the side along with some grapes.

For dinner Chris really wanted walnut-crusted chicken. I made it a few weeks ago and you can get the recipe here. Because I knew how to make this I got to work on the sides. I have been craving a different veggie lately so I picked up some brussels sprouts at the grocery store.

After getting some quinoa started and having the chicken in the oven I started with the brussels sprouts. I found a recipe for it that made them sound really appetizing and I was right. Onion and a little bit of lemon juice go a long way.

Walnut-Crusted Chicken with Brussel Sprouts

Recipe courtesy of Simply Recipes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb fresh brussels sprouts
  • 4-6 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice or 1 Tbsp Meyer lemon juice, fresh squeezed
  • 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds (I left these out)

Directions:

Remove any ragged or old-looking outer leaves on the brussels sprouts and discard. Parboil the brussels sprouts (or steam them) for 3 minutes or until just tender. They should be almost cooked all the way through (split one in half to test). Strain the hot water and place the sprouts in a bowl of ice water, this will keep their color bright green. Cut the sprouts into halves.

Heat 2-3 Tbsp of butter in a large sauté pan on medium heat. Add the onions and cook until translucent, about 4-5 minutes. Add 2-3 Tbsp more of butter and the brussels sprouts halves. Increase the heat to medium high and cook for several more minutes. Salt and pepper to taste, while the brussels sprouts are cooking. Do not overcook! Overcooked brussels sprouts are bitter and are the main reason why some people don’t like them.

Remove the pan from the heat, stir in the lemon juice and half of the toasted almonds. Add salt and pepper to taste. Place in serving dish and garnish with the rest of the toasted almonds.

Leave a Reply

