Vending Machine Show-down

On Wednesday it was back to reality and with getting in so late from San Fran I still had zero food in the fridge or pantry. I was starving when I got to work so I was forced to have a show-down with the vending machine.

Have you ever sat in front of a vending machine trying to assess the healthiest option? It’s hard. I ultimately ended up with a Nature Valley granola bar-probably not the best breakfast but it was something…

For lunch I once again had to eat out and was craving Panera for their selection of soups. I decided to switch things up from the veggie sandwich I usually get and opted for a chicken salad sandwich instead, side of tomato soup, apple and water with lemon.

Ever since the bridal shower, I have had the biggest craving for Chicken-Salad.

I clearly needed to go grocery shopping after work so dinner needed to be quick and easy. It was pushing 7:00 pm by the time I got home and I still wanted to get in a run. I need to register for the Thunder Road Half before fees are astronomical but I have to admit I’m a little scared. What if I can’t do it?

The run was cold, dark and miserable but my morningstar meal helped revive me when I got home.

My dinner was a spicy black-bean burger from Morningstar with melted provolone cheese, spinach and red onion. It was very tasty! I had some Kashi Cheese crackers on the side as well as an apple.

Dessert was neopolitan ice-cream. 🙂

Dinner felt more like lunch but it took minutes to make and freed up some of my time to work on this disaster…

I loathe putting my life back together once we are done traveling. It took a few hours but I went to bed with everything back in its rightful place. I guess I’m officially back in the swing of things.

Have you ever been afraid to try something athletically before? Any advice for a first time half marathoner?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kristin on December 2, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    register now claire!! you can do it! just know that i am as scared for the marathon as you are for the half marathon – we will face down our fears together :):):)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

