Happy Thanksgiving from California!

Hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving! Mine was especially special because Chris and I are in California visiting my Dad. We got in late on Wednesday evening and were exhausted from traveling. But this little touch of kindness cured all of that 🙂

The next morning I woke up rested and ready to run! As a sort of homage to Lafayette, I opted to run down Mt. Diablo instead of the reservoir behind my parents house. It was so nice to run by all the awesome shops that have sprung up since I spent my high school years here. I went about 1.5 out because I knew once I came back, the hills in the neighborhood were going to be BRUTAL!

They were, but I survived. Then I enjoyed a guilt free Thanksgiving feast!

My step-mom decorated the table beautifully. I really liked her rustic yet regal approach this year. 🙂

This year I spent a little too much on the appetizers beforehand. There was such a great assortment of cheeses. I was especially keen on the cranberry goat cheese log-Oh My God.

 We also had stuffed mushrooms, zucchini squares, fruit and a smattering of other delicious treats that I just could not avoid.

Finally sitting down to eat the turkey was a hard task-but I was up to the challenge. 🙂

Then of course came the dessert and wouldn’t you know there was a whole table dedicated to the after-meal course!

…and this wouldn’t be America if we didn’t have some classic homemade Apple Pie! Mmmmmm

Keeping in line with the holiday we had pumpkin and walnut waffles with fruit the next morning-I had been craving waffles so this was a special treat.

Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. There are so many things to be thankful for this year and hopefully to come!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by CARMEN on November 27, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Everything looked so good…im glad you are having a great time! Miss u..have a GOOD flight back and call me soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

