Harry Potter & the Amazingly, Wonderful Dessert

Friday was the start of opening weekend for the new Harry Potter movie.

(source)

While I have not been as on-top of my theatrical wizard knowledge as some would have liked, I accompanied my friend Sara (on opening night-mind you) to the big event! She made me a great dinner followed by one awesome dessert as she promptly schooled me on what I needed to know to go into the seventh installation of HP. I myself, fell off at around movie two but figured with Sarah’s knowledge I could get through the movie like a champ…and I did.

But backing up…let’s go to lunch on Thursday. As you know I have been pinching pennies and while I have finally run out of things to make for lunch I was forced to go out on Thursday. Chris and I are trying to get through next week without grocery shopping since we leave for California for the holidays. I stumbled upon this little lunch for under $5! Complete with a mini-sub, apple slices and a choice of either chocolate milk or a juice box, I was in kiddy heaven.

Thursday’s dinner was Five Guys Burgers. Chris convinced me, but it didn’t take much to win me over. Friday’s breakfast was unpictured black cherry yogurt but Friday’s lunch was something special. Our department once again went to Rooster’s to celebrate our graphic designer’s birthday. I usually get the quarter chicken with a side of mac n’ cheese and once again, it did not disappoint!

Now, back to Friday evening….

Dinner was Portobello mushroom stuffed chicken with beans. YUM.

(forgive the phone picture, my camera finally died after weeks of food photography!)

The dinner was hearty but the dessert was something so wonderful, I could hardly keep my mouth shut. I was either eating or raving about what a great dessert she made. To top it all off, it wasn’t even that bad for you! When you are in the mood for some kind of crisp without the calories, let me introduce you to this Fall Pear treat-

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white wine (Riesling)
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 Pears
  • Cinnamon sticks

Directions:

Turn oven to 350 degrees

Cut the bottom of the pears so that they will stand up-right in the baking dish.

Place pears in baking dish followed by the wine, brown sugar and cinnamon sticks. Cook for 1 hour, making sure to baste the pears with the carmelized mixture every 15-20 minutes. One the pears are done, place in bowl with vanilla frozen yogurt and cinnamon sticks from baking dish.

Serve and enjoy!

It was so great to have good food, good wine and even better company on a lazy Friday night. For now, I’m going to continue cleaning (I’m in a zone) but will fill you on the rest of the weekend (complete with Salmon Cakes, babies and a new book) on Monday.

Hope everyone is having great weekends 🙂

What are your favorite Fall Desserts? Are they healthy or unhealthy?

Leave a Reply

