When & Where?

I heart Black Cherry Yogurt.

I am not a morning person and so while I peruse blogs filled with wonderful-looking breakfasts, it’s still not enough to get me up early and pull one together myself most days. Most the time I’m fine with bringing Tupperware of kashi cereal or throwing a yogurt in my purse as I run out the door.

Lately I have been grabbing for Black Cherry.

While still trying to eat moderately to prepare for the Feast that is Thanksgiving, I have also been pinching my pennies. Hence, lunch in the good ol’ cube. While it may not be the healthiest alternative, a tuna sandwich (a fave family recipe) is both filling and cheap!

I like to put in my tuna salad: celery, pickles, hard-boiled eggs and mayonnaise.

I was all excited to have made it through a work day without scowering HR for chocolate mid-afternoon, but when I got to the GMAT prep course on Tuesday night, our “meal provided” was pizza. 😦 I don’t know why but I was half expecting a nice box dinner with a nutritious sandwich and an apple.

I gave in. I had no choice. I was hungry and it was good. I did steer clear of Sprite and opted for water with my 2 pieces of delicious pizza. I don’t drink soda often but it can be tempting at times…especially if they have a caffeine free option.

(The cork was from my UNCC graduation dinner-memories!)

The GMAT prep course was more than beneficial. I’m really glad I went! We went over an entire quantitative section of the GMAT and I learned some really solid coping mechanisms as well as tips for the test.

(source)

While I have still decided to prep for the GMAT and try to take the test in January/February I am reluctant to say I have no idea where and when I’m going to grad school. Luckily the test is good for five years. Chris is going to be done with school in August (which is when I would be starting) so we’ve decided to hold off on the application process until we know where he gets a job.

I would love to go to Wake if we decided to stay in the Charlotte area, but I can’t help but be intrigued by the possibility of moving somewhere different. The possibilities are wide open for us right now and I’m excited to see what’s next!

On to Wednesday, which was a good hump day because I got to go to Beddar, Beddar & Moore with my friend and co-worker Stephanie. We absolutely love this place and not just for their #742 Chicken Ranch Wrap but because when you chose to dine-in, they give you a cup of the soup for free!

This soup usually consists of everything they had leftover from the day before but somehow, someway, it’s always the best soup I’ve ever had! It’s magical. Wednesdays soup was chicken cordon bleu.

Lunch is a unpictured wrap-because that is also how good it was-I forgot!

Dinner last night was some vegetable goodness! We had some left over chicken in the fridge that we needed to use and I was craving something healthy. We made some Quinoa and then cooked chicken, edomae beans, broccoli, shrimp (Chris’s call) and onion to make a stir-fry dish.

For the stir fry sauce we added 3 Tbsp. soy sauce, 2 Tbsp. Sherry and 1 Tbsp. corn starch. It was delish.

Have any of you felt nervous or scared to try something new but were excited about the change at the same time?

For those of you have gone back to school to get your higher education, would you consider it worth it?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea on November 18, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I will answer your second question since I graduated with my masters degree in Summer 2009. I did get a raise, which was nice. But, honestly, that was probably the only benefit I’ve noticed, and the raise is a pretty meager one. But, I’m in education, and it might be different in the business world. I had already been teaching 9 years when I went back for my masters, and I felt like everything they were teaching me in my courses, I already knew from being in the classroom for so long.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

