A little Monday Happiness

While no one really “likes” Monday’s, I generally can accept them. It’s been two whole days since I had to be at work and most of the time I feel rested and re-charged. Also, it doesn’t hurt that on Monday’s, my sister comes over to our house for dinner and Monday night TV. It works out perfectly because Chris is usually watching Monday Night Football and checking his fantasy team stats-so a little family company is definitely welcome.

Last night Chris and I were joint chefs in the kitchen and talked about our work day as we made  Chicken Pitas with brown rice medley. It was a perfectly light dinner. I’m trying to watch what I’m eating this week as I’m sure next week’s Thanksgiving festivities will be a marathon of eating! 🙂

Chicken Pitas

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
  • 1 cup thinly sliced seeded cucumber
  • 3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • Freshly ground pepper , to taste
  • 4 6-inch whole-wheat pitas, warmed
  • 1 cup shredded romaine lettuce
  • 2 small or 1 large tomato, sliced
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion
  •  

    Directions:

    Preheat grill to medium-high or position rack in upper third of oven and preheat broiler. If grilling, oil the grill rack (see Tip). If broiling, coat a broiler pan with cooking spray.

    Sprinkle chicken with 1/2 teaspoon salt. Place the chicken on the grill rack or prepared pan and cook until no longer pink in the center and an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 165°F, 4 to 8 minutes per side, depending on the size of the breast. Transfer the chicken to a clean cutting board and let rest for 5 minutes.

    Meanwhile, combine cucumber, yogurt, lemon juice and 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper in a small bowl. Thinly slice the chicken. Split open the warm pitas and fill with the chicken, yogurt sauce, lettuce, tomato and onion.

    After dinner I tried to convince my sister Kate to run with me. With it being so dark I didn’t want to run by myself. She was too tired from having cheerleading practice (she’s a UNCC cheerleader and a physical therapist major)  that she didn’t feel like running but that she would go through a “Insanity” work-out with me in the living room….

    The work-out included:

    -Jumping Jacks with arms (for 30 seconds)

    -Hysman jumps (30 seconds)

    -Oblique Lifts (20, 15, 10, 10)

    -Push ups adding elbows (20)

    -Butt Kicks

    -High Knees

    -Mummy Kicks

    -Kicks (100 in under a minute)

    Power Squat Jumps (10, 8, 6, 4, 6, 8, 10)

    (she is insane)

    This work-out kicked my butt! She left me the exercises to practice on my own but holy cow! 20 minutes of this was worse than any mile run. I thought I would be more sore today but thankfully I am not.

    Lately I have been feeling so tired and even though I get plenty of sleep, I don’t drink any caffeine. Rather than fall victim to a soda in the afternoon I have decided to try a multi-vitamin which I probably should be doing anyway…

    That and a little Cinnamon Apple Spice in the afternoon is my new stay healthy and alert remedy! 😉

    Oh and an update on Wake Forest…I have a GMAT prep course tonight from 6-9 that they offer but the school and the structure of the curriculum sound awesome! Chris will graduate in the summer with his PHd so we still need to discuss the timeline of events…but I will keep you guys posted!

    Leave a Reply

