Starting to feel the Holidays

When the leaves turn their beautiful fall colors, I instantly start craving the holidays.

Friday I was super anxious to get off work so that I could spend time with some folks that I think of as family. My friend Carmen was in town and her new husband and baby, who I adore, were in tow. 

I have to admit that one of my favorite things about Carmen being in town-means (selfishly) that I get to see her family and with that, comes many perks!

One of which is a traditional Cuban-style dinner of steak and rice! Also included are plantains, my all-time favorite 🙂

This dish sprinkled with some lime is a crowd pleaser! The wine flowed as well as the food and all company was welcome. More of my besties including Sarah and Marinda came to eat, drink and be merry with us-and it was so nice to have the group all together!

Breakfast was an incredible, un-pictured Omelet that Carmen’s dad dubbed “everything but the kitchen sink.” After breakfast I said my “goodbye’s” and headed home to vedge for the entire day.

I finally peeled myself off the couch in order to go to Press for some appetizers and dessert with my sister.

I sipped on a Highland Gaelic Ale while eating this delicious spread of olives, humus and crackers.

Can we just talk about how much I love olives? Chris and I have an ongoing inside joke about how much I love olives that we’ve decided to engrave our wedding bands with this simple statement: “Olive You.”

After the appetizer, came the good stuff! Can one really have too much fondue in their life? I think not.

A little cocoa was the perfect treat to end the night and made me realize just how excited I am for Thanksgiving and Chrismtas.

What are your all-time favorite foods? How about restaurants in Charlotte?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on November 8, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    I miss the Herlocker burger joint, remember that?? Not there anymore so even if I lived there I’d miss it, but still!

    Reply

  2. Posted by CARMEN on November 8, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    i loved seeing you..The Moreno family loves their “white girl”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

