Another Tofu Trial

I LOVE pumpkin bread.

Breakfast was some left-over pumpkin bread from this weekend and it was still so moist and good! I’ll be sad when it is gone 😦

 

Last night I enjoyed cooking a meal for one-after work and after a great run with Daisy.

The weather was perfect and lately I have felt pressured to squeeze in a run after work more often than not because I know it won’t be long before my workouts will take place in the gym, thanks to daylight saving time. With Chris still on his drive home from Baltimore, I decided to give a tofu recipe a whirl.

Chris is pretty good about eating whatever I make-but I think he still may be on the fence about tofu. I thought this recipe was going to be a slam-dunk but it STILL was lacking a bit in flavor. Maybe it was me? Maybe it was the brand? I’m not sure-but I want a tofu recipe that packs a punch!

I really liked the switch from Asian flavor to French but I was expecting a bit more finesse.

Panfried Tofu

Ingredients:

  • 2 (14-ounces) packages soft tofu (not silken)
  • 6 large eggs (4 hard-boiled and 2 raw)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoon vegetable oil, divided
  • 1 medium shallot, minced (2 tablespoons)
  • 1/3 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 2 tablespoons drained capers, chopped
  • 1/3 cup tarragon leaves

 

Directions:

Cut each tofu block lengthwise into 3 equal pieces. Drain on paper towels.

Peel hard-boiled eggs and halve lengthwise. Remove hard-boiled yolks and place in a food processor. Thinly slice whites crosswise and reserve.

Add lemon juice, water, mustard, and 1/4 teaspoon each of salt and pepper to yolks in food processor. With motor running, add 1/2 cup oil in a slow stream, processing until emulsified and smooth and scraping down sides as needed. Transfer to a bowl and stir in shallot, parsley, and capers. Reserve 1/4 cup dressing for serving.

For salad-gently toss with arugula, tarragon, and egg whites. Season with salt and pepper.

Heat remaining 2 tablespoons oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium heat. Meanwhile, lightly beat remaining 2 eggs in a medium bowl. Pat tofu dry and season both sides with 1/2 teaspoon salt (total). Coat tofu with egg, letting excess drip off, then fry, turning once, until golden and heated through, 8 to 10 minutes. Drain briefly on paper towels, then serve with salad and reserved dressing.

On a completely un-related note: my birthday gift from Chris’s mom was “Style” by Lauren Conrad and I was delightful to get it when he came home last night. I could not ask for better in-laws and am so happy to be marrying into the family I am! Thanks so much Jane (and Michelle!)

Naturally being an impatient person-I’ve combed through most of this book. 3 things that I noticed that could be helpful for anyone interested in picking up this little manual are as follows-

1.) There is an entire section on editing your closeet-can’t wait to purge this weekend!

2.) How to fold, hang and store pieces so that they last longer! Great tips!

3.) Daytime and Evening looks on make-up-along with of course staple pieces every girl must own.

Just thought I’d share!

Leave a Reply

