Fall BBQ

For someone who hasn’t entirely grown up in the south, I discovered a truth this weekend. The best bbq comes from a good ol’ fashioned southern get-together. It’s not the franchise down the street but the old man who has been making his own “special sauce” for years. A man who doesn’t think to bottle and market his unique sauce, but is just down-right proud to be able to make it for large quantities of people and call it his own. I had the best bbq this past weekend at a fundraiser I volunteered at where the proceeds went to help Loaves and Fishes and Crisis Assistance.

We had all the fixins’ including beans and slaw….

…and I don’t eat “slaw” but I must say the smell of fresh cilantro in this particular slaw made it impossible not to taste.

By the time the fundraiser was done I had raved so much to Mickey “the sauce master” that he secretly passed me a ketchup bottle filled with enough sauce to make this girl happy throughout the season. I felt special.

Sunday I kept in line with the “no cooking” marathon and ordered in our favorite Sunday night take-out, half price hibachi. There is a restaurant right around the corner from our house that has the most amazing food and daily specials, I have no idea how they stay open. For $10 you can get all this:

A nice salad with ginger dressing to start your meal off…

Some yummy miso soup

The main course which includes the most delectable little sugar carrots along with rice, chicken and veggies with a side of shrimp sauce and a drink. DANK.

This week  it is my mission to start eating out less for lunch. I decided to invest in a lunch bag and some new Tupperware. The plastic bag just hasn’t been cutting it and after tallying up how much I was spending during the week on lunches I was quite appalled by my actions.  In classic Claire fashion I ended up picking a cute lunch bag because there’s nothing like the  promise of buying something new and shiny to give you the ultimate motivation to stop spending money. If that makes sense to anyone other than me…

P.S. I’ve started a new obsession with Tuperware-beware.

What can’t I take to work now???  🙂

Do you find it hard to pack meals for your work day? How do you go about preparing your lunches and snacks? What are your favorite things to pack for a lunch?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea on October 18, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I LOVE Tupperware! My husband made me throw some away recently when we were organizing cabinets. My favorite new containers have a screw-on lid that can be put in the freezer to keep the contents cold during the day. The one for salads is THE BEST!

    http://www.belk.com/AST/Main/Belk_Primary/For_the_Home/Shop/Kitchen/LunchtoGo/PRD~8100478830/Cool+Gear+Stay+Fit++Deluxe+Salad+Kit.jsp?off=7

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cathie McGinnis on October 18, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I bring lunch everyday now. I used to spend between $10 to $15 a day for lunch. Leftovers are what I usually bring – I tend to cook a lot on Sunday so I will have enough for lunch and dinner for a few days. This time of year it is usually a hearty soup or stew. I’ve gotten almost everyone in my office bringing lunch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

