IT’S ARRIVED!!!!!!!!!

The Produce Bible has arrived! My very sweet, soon-to-be, but already feels like, sister-in-law bought me the coveted Produce Bible for my birthday ūüôā THANKS MICHELLE! I love getting birthday presents early!

I can NOT wait to dive into this tonight in bed! I want to learn so much more about produce and farmer’s markets and what exactly you do with a kumquat. The book came in perfect time because I had an exciting vegetable and fruit day yesterday…

For lunch I had Panera’s¬†Mediterranean¬†veggie sandwich with some tomato soup and an apple for dessert. The sandwich included Zesty Peppadew¬†piquant peppers, feta cheese, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, onions and cilantro Jalape√Īo hummus¬†on Tomato Basil bread. It was delish.

Who would have thought that I would ever be eating a sandwich with no meat? Moving on, for dinner I was anxious to try baked eggs in tomatoes and I thought it would pair well with some Tilapia.

For the baked eggs you want to take a melon baller or spoon and gut the beefsteak tomato, leaving only the membrane.

Then you want to fill it with the egg mixture (I did 3 eggs for 2 tomatoes and added in some herbs along with some Gruyère cheese, the recipe called for chives and parmesan cheese.)

The oven was set to 350 degrees and the side dish took about 45 minutes for the eggs to set. Serve while hot!

Be extra careful not to cut the tomato membrane, otherwise it will look like this:

Tilapia Recipe

Ingredients:

  • Tilapia-4 fillets
  • salt-1 teaspoon
  • black pepper-1/2 teaspoon
  • all-purpose flour-1/2 cup
  • olive oil-1/2 cup
  • unsalted butter-2 tablespoons
  • capers-2 tablespoons (drained)

Directions:

Salt and pepper the tilapia fillets and refrigerate for at least a 1/2 hour.
Spread the all-purpose flour across a plate.
Take a tilapia fillet and gently pat each side into the all-purpose flour. You’re looking to lightly coat the tilapia fillet.
Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a sauté pan and add the lemon slices. Fry for about 5 minutes and remove.
In batches fry the tilapia fillets in the lemon infused olive oil for about 1 to 2 minutes on each side. Place on your serving dish.
Increase the heat of the sauté pan to high and add the unsalted butter and capers.
Gently stir for about 2 to 3 minutes.
Spoon the sauce over the tilapia fillets and serve.

For breakfast this morning I was craving and I mean CRAVING a smoothie. It’s been a while since I made a banana and strawberry smoothie for an “ode to the produce bible”-I revisited¬†my favorite breakfast (on the go) today!

Do you incorporate enough fruits and veggies in your diet? What are your favorite recipes? I know I could do better but it helps to find great recipes to incorporate the everyday veggies into something more unique and delightful! ūüėČ

Leave a Reply

