TGI Friday!

I am constantly on the hunt for more tofu recipes because while I still love meat and red meat at that, I do know that substituting in tofu, fish, pasta amongst other healthier options into our weekly meals is imperative for our health and well-being. Beyond that, tofu is easily managed and oh so versatile. Wednesday nights dinner was the closest I’ve come to making a tofu meal really tasty. I like this recipe and will try it again but I’m still searching to find a recipe that makes me say, “Oh My Gosh, this is soooo good.” If anyone has any suggestions, let me know!

Sweet & Sour Tofu Stirfry

Ingredients:

  • ½ (19 oz) container regular tofu
  • ¼ cup soy sauce or tamari
  • ¼ cup apple juice
  • 2 Tbsp seasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp ketchup
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed, or 1 cube frozen Crushed Garlic
  • ½ tsp red pepper flakes, optional
  • 1 tsp cornstarch or flour
  • 2 heads baby bok choy, cut into bite-size pieces (about 2-2 ½ cups)
  • ½ each of one yellow, red, and orange bell pepper, sliced
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 2 stalks green onion, sliced

Directions:

Cut tofu into large pieces (such as triangle shapes, about a dozen pieces).

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine soy sauce, juice, vinegar, honey, ketchup, garlic, and pepper flakes.  Stir, bring sauce to a simmer, and reduce heat. Add cornstarch (dissolved in 1 Tbsp water) and stir until sauce thickens, about one minute.  Set aside.

Heat oil in a wok or skillet over high heat.  Add tofu and pan-fry until all sides are golden brown.  Transfer tofu to a plate and set aside.

In the same wok or skillet, over high heat, stir fry thicker white pieces of boy choy, bell pepper, and broccoli, adding 1-2 Tbsp of water to help vegetables cook easily.   After 2 minutes, add leafy pieces of bok choy and green onion, stir frying for less than a minute.    Add tofu and sauce.  Stir to distribute sauce throughout evenly. 

Serve over white or brown rice.

With the colder weather coming in, I have been craving comfort food and carbs. I don’t feel too bad about my carb overload lately due to the fact that I have been running more miles. On Wednesday night after dinner I decided to try to make “15 minutes oatmeal scones” that I read about on Eat Live Run. I am clearly won over by not only good recipes, but efficient ones as well. With a few simple ingredients, the yummy scones really were made in 15 minutes-and 12 of those minutes they were in the oven.

With a few simple ingredients I whipped up my breakfast for the rest of the week. These were delicious with a little blackberry jam or crumbled over some oatmeal. For a how-to on these check here: Eat Live Run!

Thursday night I had plans to run with my friends Jenny, Lindsay and cousins Kelly and Megan. It was so nice to have some running buddies. I have been feeling a little burnt out lately on the running front and these ladies totally gave me my competitive edge back!  I ran 3 miles in just under 28 minutes! I realized that since the last time I ran the bike path I shaved a good 5 minutes off my time. Jenny is a recently turned pro MMA fighter, while Lindsay has advanced in Muay Thai in record speed over the last year and a half. Both are in tip-tip shape and really push me to up my game. My cousin Kelly is about to take her PT test for the Police Academy and my cousin Megan is making strides in becoming a better runner, like myself. I’m so appreciative of these great women in my life.

(Forgive me for this picture, it was dark and I’m still figuring out my new memory-maker!)

After such a great run we all decided to continue the conversation over some dinner. I originally had plans to go home and make pesto pasta with pine-nuts and cherry tomatoes but not cooking and continuing gabbing sounded more fun. After a quick call to the hubs, we went decided on TGIFridays for dinner. There I was introduced to my new favorite appetizer, Crispy Green Been Fries. (OMG they were SO good!) These snappy green beans are breaded and fried to a golden-brown crust. They serve it with a cucumber-wasabi ranch dip which was just spicy enough.

I was feeling adventurous so instead of my usual salad or dragonfire chicken-I went with their new Captain Morgan Caribbean Conga-LIne Chicken Sandwich. The perfectly seasoned, fire-grilled chicken breast was served on a bun with seasoned sour cream, pineapple pico, fresh cilantro, avocado and a side of sweet potato fries. To be honest, it wasn’t as good as the picture or the description but hey, you gotta try something new every once in a while right?

The night was capped off with a Sam Adams Octoberfest seasonal beer and tons of laughter at the table. It was a great Thursday, fall night. I’m ready for the weekend as I’m sure you all are too! I have a weekend filled with wedding duties including save-the-dates and registering for gifts. What are your plans for the weekend? Any fun runs or meals planned? I plan on baking up a storm in my down-time, I LOVE FALL 🙂

Leave a Reply

