Dreaming of Fall Foods…

Happy Hump Day! Last night was a near perfect fall evening. I got off work and immediately ran a few good maintenance miles. I’ve taken the pressure of trying to run 4 or 5 times a week and have now downgraded to sticking with 3 miles every Tuesday and Thursday and my long runs over the weekend. This weekend I am tackling 7 miles and I hope the weather stays just as it is-perfect!

With the cooler weather my body is craving warm meals more than ever. Last night was no exception. After my run I made my first homemade Quiche and I’m happy to say it turned out pretty good. There are a few things I’d like to try differently-like make my own crust but I was pleased with last night’s dinner.

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen Ready Made Pie Crust, thawed and put into ovensafe
  • pie dish
  • 1 ½ cup crimini mushrooms, chopped or sliced.
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup Quattro Formaggio shredded cheese
  • ½ cup chopped canned artichoke hearts (not marinated!)
  • 1 cup frozen spinach, thawed and drained (once thawed and dained, it will measure about 1/4 cup packed)
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Saute the mushrooms in olive oil just until they start to brown (takes about a minute).

Whisk together the eggs and half and half. Stir in the cheese, artichoke hearts, spinach, nutmeg, and salt.

Pour mixture into pie crust and bake for 40 minutes (or until a knife inserted into center comes out clean).

Let it cool for a few minutes, then slice and serve.

After dinner I snuggled up on the couch with the fam to watch some TV and all I could think about was some hot buttered-rum, Sugar cookies, rocky road and a million other holiday treats. I’m worried that when it gets colder I will run less and be eating more with all the savory treats that are around Thanksgiving and Christmas.

What do you avid runners do when it gets to be too cold outside to run? Grin and bare it and cover up? Move to a treadmill? Move to a different form of exercise. I’m curious to know so don’t be shy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. After my marathon at the end of the month I plan on spending most of the winter in the yoga studio. I need a break from training BUT when I do run I will bundle up and go outside. I cannot stand the treadmill and do anything I can to avoid it.

    Usually I just wear layers and shed as I go. Always dress for your winter runs like it’s 20 degrees warmer than it really is. Even though you’re miserably cold when you step out of the door you will quickly warm up. I wear shorts until it drops below 40! The most important thing is tokeep your core, head and hands warm. Invest in a vest, a hat and gloves and you’ll be good!

    You can do it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Megan Crocker on October 7, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    I love love love quiche. You should try a tofu quiche next time. I don’t think you can tell much of a difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

