Vegetarians Look Away…

So last night I walked in the door and my lovely, too good to be true fiance had dinner just about done. Don’t get me wrong, I do like to cook, but sometimes it is just nice to be cooked for. I feel like the only thing Chris does take it upon himself to make is steak. I’m not sure if he trusts me yet with the grill when it comes to high-price meat. šŸ™‚ He even sautĆ©ed some mushrooms in white wine and let me tell you, the result was delicious.

I can’t really tell you how he made it or what he did with the seasonings (1. because I wasn’t there and 2.) because he isn’t a recipe kind of guy) but I had to post the picture just so you know why I failed to make a Quiche. I am however planning on making that tonight after I get done with a 6 mile run with some co-workers. Ever since the Rock N Read 5k, a lot of my co-workers who are avid runners have enjoyed a Tuesday night run at Renaissance Park. It’s refreshing to have a few new running buddies and it definitely beats the heck out of my usual routes around my house.

A few people wanted to know what the Trader Joes Companion Cookbook was so here we go on my rant…I am obsessed with TJ’s. Our love affair began in northern California where I gre up. There, TJ’s was just your average run of the mill awesome grocery store! When they started building in Charlotte, I was beyond ecstatic but I was nervous that it wouldn’t catch on much like my Baja Fresh, whichĀ closed allĀ four locations in a matter of months. Luckily for me and the rest of theĀ city, it did catch on. I think most people enjoy the quality of food, customer service, unique offerings and overall great prices that TJ’s has to offer! Get your cookbook filled with Trader Joe recipes with Trader Joe ingredients TODAY šŸ™‚

Ā http://www.amazon.com/Trader-Joes-Companion-Portable-Cookbook/dp/0979938422

Speaking of cookbooks-another one I have my eye on right now is the produce bible. I came across it when one of my friends receivedĀ the book for a gift and was raving about it! TheĀ author isĀ LeanneĀ Kitchen, a professional chef for over 14 years. With farmer’s market and locally grown food becoming more and more mainstream-this is the perfect cookbook! It lets you know what produce is in season and how to hand-pick these items like a pro! I’m so glad my birthday is coming up, I know what I’m asking for!

Ā 

4 responses to this post.

  1. The steak looks yummy! And the kitchen looks great! Hopefully I can do our guest bath soon (before you come out at Thanksgiving)!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kendall on October 6, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Hey! Zoe does that run on Tuesday nights…she mentioned it to me to come out there but I have class on Tuesday nights now šŸ˜¦ Wish I could join you two!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Megan Crocker on October 6, 2010 at 2:33 am

    The Produce Bible looks great. Another book I am going to have to add to my never ending list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

