Once again, paint amazes me

This weekend I spent in my kitchen. Not cooking but painting and yes, it took ALL weekend. Kitchens have to be the hardest room in the house to paint with all their angles and obstacles. This little 5 foot girl moved the refrigerator and stove all by herself in order to paint her kitchen from country crock yellow to a more modern color palette leaving it in her opinion, more expensive looking. Chris would’ve helped me but he doesn’t like to reinforce my crazy behavior. He is against trying to make the house look nice at all because we don’t own it. I’m forced to use my own “play” money that we budget for to do anything home related and secretly I think he still gets annoyed I waste my money on it. I try to explain to him that it’s a disease but he just doesn’t understand. I’m happy to say that I love the way it turned out and I spent under $60 on paint, primer and a few new items from Ikea. So without further ado…here is the BEFORE and AFTER!….

BEFORE

AFTER

I have a lot more space in this corner because I took the toaster-oven down that had been screwed into the cabinet. I hated that thing and will buy a regular toaster in the next couple of days to replace it…

I bought this fixture from Ikea-the bar and hooks were a total of about $11.00. I bought the green coffee mugs at Target for $1.99 a piece.

I still plan on getting a rug to go in the kitchen as well as place settings for the 2 bar stools that will carry the brown and lime green color scheme a little better. But I’m happy with the outcome. What do you guys think???

On to Sunday night’s dinner. With football playing all day and errands that needed to be run, the last thing I felt like doing was cooking a huge dinner. I decided to just make some three-cheese ravioli with a salad and a dinner roll. I kid you not, this dinner took all of 5 minutes…

The Meal Plan for this week should be interesting! I did such a poor job at the grocery store because I went on a whim and chose most of the dishes from the Trader Joes Companion Portable Cookbook-because I happen to have it with me! Don’t judge-some people carry novels, I will carry mini cook books to find new recipes 🙂

Monday: Simply Quiche

Tuesday: Sweet and Sour Tofu Stir Fry

Wednesday: Spinach Pesto Pasta Salad

Thursday: Southwest burritos

Friday: Easy Peasy Turkey BLT Sandwich

Saturday: Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Sunday: TBD

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Terri Davies on October 4, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Wonderful job! Love the color. Your plans inspired me so I painted my bathroom this weekend and it too looks great. You don’t have to own it to make it your own!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on October 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Just like a little Candace. Glad your having fun with your place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

