Make It Work!

So it’s Friday and all I can think about is how excited I am to paint this weekend! I have been visiting Lowe’s like it is my job the last few days, constantly picking up paint samples and then deciding I still don’t have the right color. I’ve come the conclusion that I need a brown with a little bit of gray in it for this to turn out right.

Enough of that obsession…last night’s dinner was a favorite of mine, stuffed chicken with sundried tomatoes, goat cheese and basil. I was all prepared to start cooking when I realized that my tooth-pick supply had taken a serious hit so I was forced to get creative since I was already half way through the process and I didn’t want to run out to the store. We had a package of skewers so my crafty fiance helped me widdle them down to a reasonable size and that is what I used to hold the chicken together. The cost of this operation was that the dinner didn’t look as pretty as it normally does, but it still tasted just as good.

Stuffed Chicken with Sundried Tomatoes, Goat Cheese and Basil

Recipe from Bakin and Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 ounces goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes
  • 3-4 tablespoons fresh basil, thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons flour, separated
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place sundried tomatoes in a bowl and pour about 1 cup of boiling water over them. Let stand for 10 minutes to rehydrate and soften.

In the meantime, clean and rinse chicken. Pat dry. Working one breast at a time, place chicken between two sheets of plastic wrap (or in a gallon ziploc bag) and pound to about 1/4 inch thickness.

Place pounded chicken on a large cutting board. The chicken breasts should be the shape of a large oval (more or less). You’ll want to place the filling across the breast so it goes across the bottom half of the longest part of the oval. Place one ounce of goat cheese across each breast. Top with sundried tomatoes and basil. Roll chicken tightly (starting at the end with your filling) and secure with about 4-5 toothpicks.

Season with salt and pepper and dredge in 2 tablespoons of flour. Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Carefully place chicken in skillet and saute for about 5-6 minutes, turning frequently, until browned. Don’t worry if you lose a little bit of your filling (the cheese may ooze a little). You’ll have to work around the toothpicks but it’s doable.

Remove chicken from skillet and place in a baking dish coated with cooking spray. Place dish in oven and bake for about 5-10 minutes, until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees.

While chicken is in the oven, keep your skillet over medium heat. Melt butter in pan drippings from chicken and add 1 tablespoon of flour. Whisk to combine. Add wine and let simmer a minute or two. Add chicken broth and let simmer until thickened and reduced a little (about 3-5 minutes). Season to taste with salt and pepper.

To plate, remove toothpicks and slice chicken into medallions. Arrange on a plate and drizzle with sauce.

I have been really bad about running this week. Not great when you are training for a half-marathon. In fact, I’m just going to come right out and say it. I hate being forced to run and forced to run specific distances at that. I’m not going to quit on my commitment but once this is over, I can not wait to get back to my group power class and running a nice 2-3 miles a few times a week just to run for exercise. It is un-natural running huge distances and yes, my “huge” happens to tap out around 5 miles and I don’t care. I’m just not a runner and that is OK. I’m clocking 7 on Saturday and that should be horrendous. I’m going to go to Latta Plantation so that the scenery can distract me from the pure pain I am sure to be feeling. After that it’s on to painting, vegging and I’ll probably watch a movie. I hope everyone has great weekends planned!

See ya Monday ; )

PS. I know I have been bad about updating the music tab of this blog-but finding awesome new music can not be scheduled, I wish I could find a goldmine of a track list for you guys every Monday-God knows I could use some tunes at the start of a work week-but I’ll do some reasearch this weekend to try to come up with a thoughtful list to get you through the Monday morning blues!

Leave a Reply

