Beef, it’s what isn’t for dinner.

So I know meatloaf sounds like it can be so frumpy but whenever I make it, I’m really surprised by how much I like it. I’ve been trying to stay away from red meat as much as possible so I decided to make a meatloaf out of ground turkey instead. Truth be told, I thought it was 10x better than any meatloaf I had that was made with ground beef. This particular recipe had great flavor thanks to the mushrooms and herbs. I’m glad we have some leftovers, although Chris will probably get to the them before I do…

*Below is the recipe I went off of, but please note I made several changes.

Turkey Meatloaf with Mushrooms and Herbs

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil plus additional for brushing
  • 2 cups 1/3-inch cubes crustless day-old pain rustique (didn’t use this-used bread crumbs instead)
  • 1 cup low-salt chicken broth (opted not to use this either since I was using breadcrumbs)
  • 8 ounces sliced button mushrooms
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup minced shallots
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
  • 2 teaspoons coarse kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  •  

    Directions:

    Preheat oven to 350°F. Brush 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 2 1/3-inch loaf pan with olive oil.

    Toss bread with broth in large bowl. Let stand until bread absorbs broth and softens, about 10 minutes. (I mixed in the turkey with about a cup of breadcrumbs-then mixed in the remaining ingredients) Mix in mushrooms, eggs, shallots, parsley, thyme, coarse salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons oil.

    Add turkey (turkey already added); mix just until blended. Transfer to pan, mounding in center. Bake until thermometer inserted into center registers 170°F, about 1 hour 25 minutes. Let rest 15 minutes before serving.

    While dinner was in the oven, I put on my running shoes and did a quick 2.5 mile run in 25:13 which I was really proud of. I know that might seem mediocre for some, but for me, it was a great moment. I’m running the 1st annual Rock & Read 5k this weekend and it gives me hope that I might be able to pull off a time of under 30 minutes. My goal is just to have anything under 30, I would be thrilled with 27 but we’ll see! The 5k is to benefit the Charlotte Mecklenburg Libraries and seeing as how I work for a book distributor, I feel like it is my duty to help wherever possible. 🙂 Plus my training calls for a 5k race (for those of you who are interested, that tab has finally been updated!) If you are in the Charlotte area and would like to participate, here is the link:

    http://cmlibraryfriends.org/events 

    After my run and dinner, Chris and I met up with our friends at the Flying Saucer for a mid-week beer to celebrate one special lady’s birthday (Happy Birthday Lindsay!) I love the FS because they have the most insane list of beers and they carry all the good ones! I was won over by a beer they had on special, a pumpkin-spiced brew that totally made me think it was time for Fall.

    Can’t wait for the weekend! Remember, there is still one more day for anyone who wants to be in the running for the 2 DVD workout videos and stretch band! I’ll be announcing the winner or winner(s) Friday morning!

    One response to this post.

    1. Posted by JWoww on September 16, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      I better be getting a band tomorrow!!! JK.

      LOVE YOU. XOXOXO

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

