Tofu and Yoga Pretzels

Yesterday I actually stuck with the meal plan (yay-go me) and made a Tofu dish that I had been wanting to try that I found off Healthy Tipping Point. I’m pretty sure I didn’t squeeze as much water out of the tofu as needed because it didn’t hold the flavor as much as I had hoped, but it was still very good. Let me tell you how easy it is to whip up a tofu dish too! There is no defrosting, its soft and easy to manage and there is tons of ways to cook it! If you are looking for a few ways to get started either eating tofu or cooking it, try this website:

http://www.nasoya.com/ 

I decided not to run last night because I think on Monday night I pulled a muscle in my leg. It’s been really, really sore and I didn’t want to push it so instead I checked around on Exercise TV on Demand and decided that a good stretch was what my body was craving. I rolled out my yoga mat that has literally been collecting dust in my closet and promptly picked a Yoga tutorial by Brooklyn Decker (because who doesn’t want to look like her right!? ) Well, I am severely out of practice and got frustrated about half way through, but it still felt really good to stretch. I think I will try to incorporate more Yoga/Pilates throughout the weeks to help with my running. Anyone else enjoy Yoga? Where and how do you practice?

The Perfect Baked Tofu

Recipe from Healthy Tipping Point

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 block extra firm tofu
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Press excess liquid from tofu.  Wrap several paper towels around tofu, and place tofu in between two plates.  Let stand for 15 minutes.
  • Cut tofu in 1 inch by 1 inch pieces.
  • In a small, microwave-safe bowl, mix EVOO, honey, chili powder, black pepper, and paprika.
  • Microwave marinade for 35 seconds and stir thoroughly.
  • Spray cooking sheet.
  • Coat each piece of tofu in marinade and place on cooking sheet.
  • Sprinkle sesame seeds on top of tofu.
  • Cook at 375 for 30 minutes, turning once.
  • Serve & Enjoy!
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CARMEN on September 8, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    You know how I feel about that Yoga!! haha

    Reply

  2. Posted by Megan Crocker on September 16, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Tried the recipe and it was delicious. Thanks Claire!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

