Some Good, Some Bad and some Dashing

Some Good:

My new obsession is with Tofu. I know some of you reading might think it is just plain gross, but don’t knock it till you try it. Plus, it basically absorbs whatever seasoning you add, so you can change the taste with ingredients and or how you cook it. It’s quite the flexible and easy food. Last week I made another Tofu Stir-fried dish and the beauty of this meal is that there wasn’t really a recipe as much as I just threw some goodness into a wok.

Tofu ala Claire

I made some couscous separately and then in the wok through in some tofu (diced up) along with some red onion, red bell peppers, 2 Tbsp. of lime juice, salt and pepper and some spinach. Once everything was lightly cooked I added to the couscous and then decided to add some carrots and hummus just because I had a craving. If you are looking to find another recipe for tofu, try this.

The Bad:

So I am trying to stay away from as much meat as we normally eat so I’m finding recipes like this cheese enchilada meal. I was stoked to try it because I love me some Mexican but it didn’t turn out quite as good as I had hoped. I do not blame this on the recipe but rather my sometimes-disastrous cooking skills. I followed the recipe exactly and don’t know what was missing…probably the chicken! haha 🙂 What can I say? I grew up on meat.

Cheese Enchiladas

recipe from Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

  • Grapeseed oil (or another high smoke-point oil such as peanut or canola oil)
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 cup of salsa
  • 3 Tbsp of tomato paste
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup of canned crushed tomatoes (preferably fire roasted)
  • Olive oil
  • 1 lb of jack cheese, mild cheddar or longhorn or any mild yellow cheese, grated
  • A handful of cilantro
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • Half a head of iceberg lettuce

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large fry pan at high heat add 3 Tbsp of grapeseed oil. Add a tortilla to the pan. Cook for 2-3 seconds, lift up the tortilla with a spatula, add another tortilla underneath. Cook for 2-3 seconds, lift again, both tortillas, and add another tortilla underneath. Repeat the process with all the tortillas, adding a little more oil if needed. This way you can brown and soften the tortillas without using a lot of fat. You do this process to develop the flavor of the tortillas. As the tortillas brown a little, remove from the pan one by one to rest on a paper towel, which absorbs any excess fat.

Sauté up the chopped onion and garlic, then turn off the heat. Add 1 cup of salsa. Dissolve 3 Tbsp of tomato paste into 1 cup of water, add to pan. Add 1 cup of crushed fire roasted canned tomatoes. Taste. If the sauce tastes too vinegary, add a teaspoon of sugar.

Put some olive oil on the bottom of a large casserole pan. Take a tortilla, cover 2/3 of it lightly with the shredded cheese, then roll up the tortilla and place it in the casserole pan. Continue until all tortillas are filled and rolled. Add sauce to the top of the tortillas in the casserole pan. Make sure all are covered with the sauce. If not, add a little water. Cover the whole thing with the rest of the grated cheese. Put the casserole in the oven for 10 minutes or until the cheese melts.

Garnish with cilantro and sour cream. Serve with sliced iceberg lettuce that has been dressed only with vinegar and salt.

I will point out that the browning of the tortillas was an excellent idea for soaking up some flavor. I will remember this trick for years to come…

DASHING:

I’m happy to report that I have broken through my running plateau. I am now running a constant (as in no intervals and or walking) a 3 mile run pretty much daily. My ipod has A LOT to do with it. I think my trick is going to be making playlists that last the entirety of my run, and maybe even strategically place inspirational type songs (like Rihanna’s Rude Boy) when I know I will be about to gas out….

This weekend I will once again run 5 miles and hope that through a cooler September I will finish the month strong with an 8 mile run. That is the goal-stay tuned to see if I make it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

