Fantastic Fritatta!

I am happy to report that last night’s dinner turned out wonderfully! It’s always nice when that happens after a complete blunder. I’m not going to toot my horn too hard, because it was just a fritatta (which is not that hard to make) but boy was it good. This recipe is  going in the rotation and I look forward to mixing it up!

It was quick and can easily be a breakfast, lunch or dinner fixin. I did run into one problem. The grocery store did not have fresh asparagus. Who does not have asparagus? Seriously!? I’ll tell you who, Food Lion. I miss Harris Teeter but I have to say not shopping there has been better for my wallet, but the culture shock took some getting use to. I really wanted fritatta so I opted to use zucchini in place of the asparagus and it was just as good.

Zucchini and Mushroom Fritatta

recipe from Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound asparagus, tough ends snapped off, spears cut diagonally into 1-inch lengths  (I used zucchini and added mushrooms as well)
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten (I also used 6 eggs)
  • 1 cup shredded Gruyere or Swiss cheese

Directions:

Heat olive oil into a 10-inch oven-proof frying pan over medium high heat. Add onions and salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are softened, about 3 minutes. Add asparagus, reduce heat to medium-low, and cook, covered, until the asparagus are barely tender, 6 to 8 minutes. Pour in eggs and cook until almost set, but still runny on top, about 2 minutes. While cooking, pre-heat oven broiler.

Sprinkle cheese over eggs and put in oven to broil until cheese is melted and browned, about 3 to 4 minutes. Remove from oven with oven mitts and slide frittata onto a serving plate. Cut into wedges. The picture below looks just like pizza, but this was better and healthier. It was light and airy and while it did have some mozarella and egg, the veggies are a nice addition to a healthy meal.

Running last night was beyond great with the cool front Charlotte is experiencing! I ran my usual 2.5 mile loop in about 23 minutes. It was probably about 75 degrees when I ran at 8:00 last night, which was wonderful and just makes me more excited for Fall. Football season, cool running weather, boot shopping, ahh the list can go on and on. I love summer and if I had to pick a season that would probably be my favorite but there is an excitement that comes from fall that makes it an easy second place season!

Extended Forecast: (Look at those wonderful cool nights!)
Fri
Aug 27
Sat
Aug 28
Sun
Aug 29
Mon
Aug 30
Tue
Aug 31
     

85° | 67°
P/Cloudy

85° | 64°
M/Sunny

83° | 65°
Sunny

86° | 66°
Sunny

88° | 67°
M/Sunny
     
Leave a Reply

