I’m a Steak n’ Potatoes kinda girl…

Lots of yummy kinda surf and turf talk in today’s post! I am trying to incorporate more veggie-only meals into my eating habits but sometimes a girl just needs a nicely prepared steak. Sunday night I told you guys that Chris made us a fabulous steak on the grill and I wasn’t kidding about it being amazing. I generally like when he wants to grill because it means I’m only responsible for the side items. I like to cook, but I don’t think I like to cook more than someone cooking for me 🙂 After cleaning, mopping, dusting and about a million loads of laundry on Sunday, this meal was the perfect way to end the weekend. I might have had a glass of Bully Hill wine too…

Steak & Potatoes

Not sure what he did with the steak, but for the potatoes we just diced up some red onion and seasoning and placed the chopped up baby red potatoes in some tin-foil for them to cook on the grill. They were a great substitute to mashed potatoes and I’m hoping a healthier alternative. I love love love mashed potatoes but I know how much salt, butter and milk I put into them too. To add some veggies I added a side salad with some left over goat cheese crumbles, walnuts and a simple vinaigrette. I have always been a steak and potatoes girl. It has always been my all-time favorite food and still is, even after my tastebuds have matured over the years.

Another guilty pleasure (besides all that red meat) was a bowl of cookies n’ cream ice-cream. Which I have decided is my arch nemesis. I could eat the entire carton if someone let me.

On to Monday night where I was feeling better and there is no doubt in my mind that it was because my house was in order (I’m weird like that) and the fact that I had such a great first day at work. (Nerves aside) I now get to work with my B&T partner in crime (Hi Steph!) and we are on an all-girl Marketing team, which is a big difference from being surrounded by all my “boys” in the Entertainment department.

The ladies were nice enough to take me out to CPK=California Pizza Kitchen at Southpark for my first day and it was a great lunch spot. Definitely going back to try more of their menu when I get the chance. I had the tortilla soup and an appetizer of four quesadillas. At first glance I didn’t think it was going to be enough, but it was. I was delightfully full after lunch.

After work I came home and reversed my usual routine. I try to work-out before eating but it’s been so hot lately I just felt like a night run might be nice. I went straight to the kitchen and made what the meal plan called for (salmon with cous cous and brocoli) and while I added a little brown sugar to the recipe it was light and somewhat healthy and we hadn’t had any salmon for a while so it was a nice change of pace. (Don’t be shocked at the portions-this is Chris’s plate)

Glazed Salmon

Recipe courtesy of Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup apple cider (not hard cider)
  • 1 1/4 tablespoons honey (added brown sugar topping)
  • 4 skinless salmon fillets (6 ounces each) *halved this
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 lemons, cut in half
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 12 ounces fresh baby spinach (left out spinach)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white wine

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Place salmon fillets in a baking dish large enough to hold the salmon in one layer.

In a saucepan over medium-high heat, bring the cider and honey to a boil and let the mixture bubble steadily until it reduces by half.

Pour the cider over the salmon, then let it sit for 10 minutes.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet with a oven-proof handle on medium-high. Sprinkle the flesh side of the salmon fillets with salt and pepper. Place the fish in the pan. Cook for 2 minutes, brushing the top with cider glaze so that the fish begins to caramelize.

 Turn the salmon fillets over and brush with the remaining cider glaze. Add the lemon halves to the skillet. Transfer the skillet to the oven. Bake for 6 to 8 minutes or until the salmon flakes easily when tested with the tip of a knife.

While the salmon is cooking, in another large skillet over medium-high heat, melt the butter. Add the spinach, salt, and pepper. Cook for 1 minute, or just until the leaves begin to wilt. Pour the wine over them and continue cooking for 1 to 2 minutes more or until tender.

To serve, drain any excess liquid from the spinach and divide it among 4 plates. Arrange a piece of salmon on top and garnish with a lemon half.

— – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The humidity seems to have gone down in Charlotte this week and I could not be happier! After dinner I went for a run and it was around 8:30. I got in about a mile before it turned pretty dark outside but with streetlights it was fine. I was so happy that I ran longer and even extended my loop PLUS I didn’t feel terrible at the end! Saturday morning Chris, Lindsay and (Cody Bobby-her goldie) all ran at Latta and the weather was great. It was not as humid as night and with it being overcast it gave me tons more energy. I’m all for the sun, but only when I’m laying in it.

This makes me very antsy for September and October where I know I will start to increase my mileage drastically due to the cooler weather. I ran close to 3.8 miles last night (doing sets) and it took me a little over 40 minutes. For the first time, I actually feel like I’m getting better. Apparently getting angry and running and deciding to do it EVERYDAY is working 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Terri Davies on August 17, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Nothing on facebook about your new job. Congratulations, you deserve it! Such a smarty pants 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Megan Crocker on August 18, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Sounds yummy! Think I am going to try it. In October, Andy and I are going to the Finger Lakes in upstate NY for hiking and wineries. Really excited!! We are definitely going to visit Bully Hill 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

