Treadmill vs. Road

So, let me tell you that my 3-mile run was a BREEZE in the comfort of my gym last night with the AC blowing on me, 5 plasma’s to look at and an all flat surface to run on. I had planned on going to Group Power, which these days feels like a distant memory, but Dana, my gym buddy, wanted to do cardio and I was down for that because if you read this blog often, you know I’m struggling. I think I also needed a break from the road and the heat. I’m not going to resort to training inside a gym but I gotta say when I need a confidence booster that is where I’m going. I felt like I could have run 3 more miles, I hardly broke a sweat. It was  nice change from the sweaty mess I am when I crawl back into my house from an outdoor run.

After the gym I went home and made Chris and I dinner. It was nothing too big, just a salad but it was good. I put sliced granny apples, goat cheese, crushed walnuts and topped it off with an olive oil and lemon juice dressing. The chicken helped to fill me up but I decided to make Red Lobster cheese biscuits because sometimes I feel like I never feed Chris enough 🙂 I have to remember he is twice my size. After seeing them and glazing them with melted butter as they were almost done, I couldn’t resist, I had to have one.  So worth it.

Chicken Apple Goat Cheese Salad

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 large shallot, peeled and sliced
  • 1 1/2 lb skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • Salt
  • 1 tart green apple, thinly sliced
  • Baby arugula leaves – enough for a salad for four
  • 1/4 cup toasted walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup goat cheese – broken up into little pieces
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

Heat stick-free frying pan to medium heat. Add a tablespoon of olive oil and lightly sauté the shallot slices until translucent. Remove from pan. Add another tablespoon of olive oil and cook the chicken breast pieces, stirring occasionally, until just cooked through – 5 to 10 minutes. Sprinkle some salt on the chicken while you are cooking it. Remove from pan and chill.

When chicken has cooled, toss together in a serving bowl the shallots, chicken, sliced green apple, arugula, walnuts and goat cheese. Dress with olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste.

Red Lobster Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. Bisquick
  • 2/3 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. grated cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 c. melted butter
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic salt

Directions:

Mix Bisquick, milk and cheddar until a soft ball forms. Beat vigorously for 30 seconds. Drop by balls onto an ungreased baking sheet and bake at 450 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes. Mix butter and garlic and brush on rolls while still on the pan and hot.

After dinner I was feeling like a glass of wine and wishing I had bought a bottle at the grocery store, but then I remembered that at the wedding last weekend, Bets had given me a bottle of NY wine in my “bridesmaid” bag.  Let me tell you it was GREAT! They could definitely give Napa a run for their money…

I enjoyed this glass of wine so much, I am actually excited to have another glass tonight. That sounds very “booze bag” of me but in my defense, I just read in my Cosmo that a reasonable glass of red wine daily is not only good for you, but helps with weight loss. Hear that ladies?! Drink up! Just remember, it’s only 1 glass of wine 😉

Chris and I are going to the Irish Festival in downtown Charlotte this weekend. Anyone else planning on going? If you are interested in going and want more information, check out this link! Hope everyone has a great Friday!

http://www.charlotteirishsummerfestival.com/index.php

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JWoww on August 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Are you an aunt yet?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on August 13, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Road running is better in the long run I’ve found… Literally. Helps me with endurance, and when I get back on a treadmill I can run faster and longer no problem. But good to do both and mix em up… Keep your body guessing! I think I’m due for a CLT trip so I can run with someone so motivated! Miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

