“I love Fish Tacos!”

The title of this post may not be funny to most, but it is to some. There is a running  joke about how much I love this particular food with me and my friends. Last night’s dinner was no exception. It hit the spot and two actually filled me up! I added lime juice to the cabbage for a kick instead of cidear vinegar and anytime I can put avocado on something, I do!  I think for fish tacos, it’s always better if the fish is crispy so next time I think I will add some type of batter. Still good and healthy 🙂

Fish Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of very fresh fish fillets – (Good fish for tacos are firm fish like swordfish or shark)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  • 1 doz corn tortillas (3 tortillas per person)
  • Vegetable oil or butter (optional, depending on how you heat your tortillas)
  • Salsa – (I substituted out salsa and used cut-up tomatoes instead)
  • 1 ripe AvocadoCabbage (or iceberg lettuce)
  • Cider vinegar
  • Salt

Directions:

Prepare the cabbage and avocado. Thinly slice cabbage. Put in a small serving bowl. Sprinkle with cider vinegar (about a Tbsp) and salt (about a tsp). Mix in the vinegar and salt. Peel avocado and remove seed. Chop and reserve for later.

Heat the tortillas. One way to easily soften and heat a tortilla to simply heat it in the microwave for 20-25 seconds on high heat, on top of a napkin or paper towel to absorb the moisture that is released.

Another way is to heat a well seasoned (black) large cast iron skillet to medium heat. Add a teaspoon of oil to the pan or spread a half a teaspoon of butter on one side of one tortilla. Place tortilla in the pan (butter side down if you are using butter). As the tortilla sizzles, flip the tortilla with a spatula so that the other side gets some of the oil or butter from the pan. Continue to flip every 10-30 seconds until the tortillas begins to develop air pockets, about a minute. If the pan begins to smoke, lower the temperature. You can skip the butter or oil if you wish and just heat the tortillas up on the skillet without them. We have found that the flavor of packaged tortillas benefits from heating them with a bit of oil.

Remove the tortilla from the pan and place it folded on a plate. If the pan is large enough you can prepare two or more tortillas at once. Continue until all the tortillas (estimate 3 per person) are cooked. Set aside.

Cook the fish. Soak the fish fillets in cold water for at least one minute. Pat dry with a paper towel. Heat a large stick-free skillet to medium high heat. Add a couple of teaspoons of olive oil to the skillet. Place fish on skillet. Cooking time depends on the thickness of the fillets. A thin fillet may take only one minute on each side to cook. A thicker fillet may take a couple of minutes. Fish should be still barely translucent when cooked. Break off a piece and test if you are not sure. Do not overcook the fish. Remove from pan when done to a separate plate. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Assembly. Tacos are best when you assemble them yourself. Place the plate of tortillas, the plate of fish, the salsa, the cabbage, and the avocados on the table and let everyone assemble their own.

Recipe courtesy of SimplyRecipes.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Last night Linds and I went and ran the 3-mile bike path. I did my intervals (run 6 minutes, walk 1) and lasted till about the third interval. I could not for the life of me knock out four. I had anticipated the 3-miles taking us 28 minutes and I was so disappointed with my time. We finished in 32: 52 which in a runner’s world is WAY off goal. The humidity in the air was disgusting and I can not wait until September and October, where I’m hoping that my speed and endurance will pick up! I feel the weather is hindering me from pushing through, that and mentally I need to get tougher. Chris brought up a good point that he almost thinks the air at night is thicker and he may be right. I may try and do some morning work-outs till the weather gets better. I’m going to test this theory out by running with Linds at Latta on Saturday morning. Also a wise runner told me yesterday that a little coffee about an hour before a run doesn’t hurt! (Thanks Carissa!) I didn’t get to try it yesterday but I will sometime this week.

In other news, I am going to be an aunt today (hopefully!) Stay tuned for some undoubtedly cute baby pictures…I’m excited!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JWoww on August 12, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Reply

  2. Posted by CARMEN on August 12, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Just remember to try “I’m Rudy! I’m Rudy!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

