I’m officially Full.

So one thing I have a bad habit of on the weekends is letting myself eat whatever I want. I think that might be OK for one day over the weekend but not Friday night, Saturday and Sunday 🙂 I didn’t do too much cooking this weekend but that doesn’t mean I didn’t have a feast of food to eat. Friday night was spent with two of my favorite girls eating some much anticipated steak and rice, courtesy of Papa Moreno. We were all together for the first time in a long time to see new baby Stone and I helped myself to “seconds” because the food was just too damn good. Saturday I worked my last shift at my family’s salon (RIP) and headed back over to the Moreno household for more appetizer type foods and pretty much inhaled their famous cheese dip for as long as my stomach would let me. I finished off the day at a Birthday BBQ and let me tell you, the spread at this party was incredible. Any kind of chip you could imagine with a paired dip, wings, beef, shrimp, sausages, salad, veggie snacks and the list goes on and on….

Sunday I decided to scale it back and after having a busy Sunday I didn’t feel like cooking a huge meal. Chris and I had a softball game and a much needed house to clean so dinner was an egg-salad sandwich and a salad. I’m also not grocery shopping this week (so no meal plan!) because Chris and I both leave early Wed. morning for the wedding in NY.

The thing I love about learning how to cook is how you can transform a regular, simple meal into something delish by adding a few ingredients. I added terragon and shallots to my egg-salad sandwich and warm goat cheese rounds to my salad. Both meals took under 30 minutes to make combined and it was perfect for a lazy Sunday evening.

Terragon Shallot Egg Salad Sandwich

Ingredients:

 For egg salad (I cut this recipe in half to make 2 sandwiches)

  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped shallot
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh tarragon, or to taste
  • 2 teaspoons tarragon vinegar or white-wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste

For sandwiches

  • Mayonnaise for spreading on bread (optional)
  • 12 slices seedless rye bread or 6 kaiser rolls
  • 3 cups tender pea shoots (3 oz) or shredded lettuce

Directions:

Make egg salad:
Cover eggs with cold water by 1 inch in a 2-quart heavy saucepan and bring to a rolling boil, partially covered. Reduce heat to low and cook eggs, covered completely, 30 seconds. Remove pan from heat and let eggs stand in hot water, covered, 15 minutes. Transfer eggs with a slotted spoon to a bowl of ice and cold water and let stand 5 minutes (to cool). Peel eggs and finely chop.

Stir together eggs and remaining salad ingredients in a bowl with a fork.

Make sandwiches:
Spread some mayonnaise (if using) on bread and make sandwiches with egg salad and pea shoots.

I’ve been making these warm goat cheese rounds ever since I found them on bakinandeggs.com. They are the best way to jazz up a salad. I am putting this recipe up on the blog specifically for my soon to be mother-in-law who requested the recipe a few weeks back 😉 Here you go Jane!

Baby Greens with Warm Goat Cheese Rounds

 

Ingredients:

1 large egg white
2 teaspoon water
4-6 (1/3-inch-thick) rounds soft mild goat cheese, cut from a cold log (use dental floss for easy cutting)
1/3 cup dry bread crumbs (preferably Japanese panko)
2 teaspoon cider vinegar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
Pinch of sugar
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
4 cups mesclun (mixed baby salad greens – about 2 ounces)

Directions:

Whisk together egg white and water. Dip cheese rounds in egg, letting excess drip off, then dredge in bread crumbs, pressing lightly to adhere. Chill 15 minutes.

Whisk together vinegar, salt, mustard, sugar and a pinch of pepper in a small salad bowl. Add 2 tablespoon oil in a slow stream, whisking until emulsified.

Heat remaining tablespoon oil in a small nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until hot but not smoking, then sauté cheese until golden, about 30 seconds per side. Remove cheese rounds from pan.

Add greens to dressing and toss gently to coat. Top with warm goat cheese rounds.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CARMEN on August 2, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I miss you already and Stone said he misses his Aunt Claire too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Julie Billarant on August 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Well now I know what I am making for dinner, this all looks amazing and I dislike eggs, but I’m excited to try it. Thanks girl!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cathie on August 2, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    That looks delish! I love tarragon in egg salad.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Andrea on August 2, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Girl, hearing you talk about my Daddy’s food makes me JEALOUS! 🙂 It’s definitely worth the splurge!

    Eggs are one of those foods that I usually have to almost force myself to eat, unless they’re deviled eggs or egg salad. I’ve never had tarragon, though, so I need to try that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

