Too Hot for Hot Food

With it being literally 100 degrees outside these days, the last thing I feel like doing is eating hot food. I feel like I can’t catch a break, even my AC is working extra hard and feeling like luke warm air. It really stinks because it’s too hot to even be outside, which is where I draw the line! I was glad that the Thursday’s meal plan called for cool pasta salad. It was easy to make and only took a few ingredients, most I already had on hand.

I’m not a big fan of pasta salad because I always think the Italian dressing overpowers the dish in most cases and beyond that, it’s just not a fave. I was excited to try this recipe out because it had no Italian Dressing and it was really good! Chris isn’t the biggest fan of Garbanzo beans and he even said it was really tasty. (So if you feel the same, I urge you to still try it.)

Pasta Salad with Garbanzo Beans, Tomatoes and Feta Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 pound fusilli or other corkscrew pasta
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh mint
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon peel
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped plum tomatoes
  • 1 15- to 16-ounce can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained
  • 4 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
  • Additional chopped fresh mint

Directions:

Cook pasta in large pot of boiling salted water until just tender but still firm to bite. Drain and rinse with cold water to cool. Drain again.

Combine 1/4 cup mint, lemon juice, vinegar, garlic and lemon peel in large bowl. Gradually whisk in oil. Add pasta, tomatoes, garbanzo beans and feta cheese. Toss to blend well. Season salad to taste with salt and pepper. (Can be prepared ahead. Let stand at room temperature 2 hours; or cover and refrigerate overnight, them let stand at room temperature 1 hour before serving.)

Mound salad on large shallow platter. Garnish with additional mint.

I think it would have been good with some Kalamata olives as well, so I think I will try that next time. I paired this with a cool summer salad with red onions, walnuts and some balsamic vinegar and it was really what we needed for a hot summer evening.

I brought leftovers for lunch and I’m looking forward to it! I didn’t go to Group Power last night (I don’t even know who I am anymore) but I feel I had a valid excuse. I was exhausted for some reason and I had a lot to do to get ready for my trip next week to NY. I finally got my bridesmaid shoes (cutting it pretty close there) and I’m really happy with them! I wanted to splurge and get the $45.00 ones that I would wear again rather than some $19.99 ones that I would trash when it was over. Thank Goodness for the Macy’s card because with everything else this month is tight! I will say I did get 15% off with a coupon…

This weekend is jam-packed! I get to see one of my best-friends and her brand new baby! I’m beyond excited 🙂 I also have another friend’s birthday party and softball, all while trying to clean my house and get ready for my trip.

What are everyone’s plans for the weekend? Do you tend to overpack your weekends like me?

Leave a Reply

