The ol’ Switcherooo

While the meal plan for Thursday called for  Seared Wild Salmon w/New Potatoes and Dijon Broth, Chris accidentally took out Tilapia instead. I was fine with it since it had been a while since I had either. After running the bike path with Lindsay I was completley exhausted (more than usual) and only felt like making a simple tialpia dish. The humidity was insane in Charlotte yesterday. At 8:00 at night I still felt like I was running through clouds. It was brutal.

Tilapia with Balsamic Butter Sauce

I paired the fish with some yummy potatoes that I mixed with EVOO and some oregano, threw them in the oven for a bit while I made the salad and finshed the fish. On another note, when I went grocery shopping this past week, I picked up the cutest little breakfast to-go.

How cute is this? Completely un-practical for an everyday breakfast at $1.29 a piece. Chris pointed out that I could just buy a box of cereal and then have a cup at my desk to eat it out of, but I picked up 2 to try them out. I missed having cereal for breakfast and now I think I am going to start eating it at my desk. It’s just too hot for oatmeal.

Also, I picked up some of this red-roasted hummus. I’m convinced that you can put this on anything. I need to start eating more veggies throughout the day so the hummus paired with some carrots, or OK carrots paired or smuthered in hummus, was delish!

Recipe for Tilapia with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 6 4- to 5-ounce tilapia fillets

Directions:

Simmer vinegar and garlic in small saucepan over medium heat until reduced to thick syrup, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in each of 2 large skillets over high heat. Sprinkle fish with salt and pepper. Sauté fish until golden, about 2 minutes per side.

Spoon sauce over fish and serve.

Tonight I’m looking forward to some easy pasta salad and Group Power! Yay 🙂 Friday will be here before we know it!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jna on July 29, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Glad I can keep tabs in u during the week. Haha. The next time u get hummus try the roasted pine nut kind. Tis amazing. Xoxo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Andrea on July 29, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I love oatmeal, too, but don’t like eating a hot breakfast in the summer. I recently started making overnight oats and I like them cold from the refrigerator in the morning. It’s a very versatile recipe!

    http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/overnightoats/

    Reply

    • I read about these overnight oats all the time! Are they really that good? Can you give me a recipe through fb that you like? I’m just worried it will be mushy or soggy…

      Reply

      • Posted by Becca on July 30, 2010 at 7:36 pm

        i was skeptical as well, but they are really awesome!

        1/3 c oats
        1/3 c greek yogurt (vanilla or plain)
        1/3 c almond milk (or regular milk)

        any mix-ins you like.

        i like almond butter and crofter’s jam on top. and banana or peach mixed in. so delicious and not a gross texture like you would think.

  3. Posted by Michelle on August 5, 2010 at 5:57 am

    Honey bunches of oats…. Still. Glad some things never change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

