Bouncing Back

So Monday was not my typical Monday. I got home from the beach after nine on Sunday night and there was a pile of laundry not done, my house was a mess from the lack of a Sunday clean-up and my fridge was bare. This all led up to a Monday fail. I came home after work and I didn’t run, I did not grocery shop and I did not cook dinner. Instead I got home, grabbed a glass of wine after a long day at work and told Chris to make the dinner. 🙂 Since I didn’t cook it, I’m not posting it and after that I had a bowl of ice-cream and sat on the couch all night. Somedays you just need days like that…

BUT! I was determined to turn my week around yesterday. I got home and went grocery shopping immediately. Got all my healthy lunch foods and some side items I needed for this week’s dinner. I’ve decided to drop down to one day a week for Group Power and replace it with a run. I’m nowhere near the amount of miles I need to be at and the Half-Marathon is slowly creeping up.  (I can’t believe it’s almost August!) So after the grocery shopping trip I ran my 2.5 mile loop and practiced my sets. (Run 6 minutes, Walk for 1 minute) My friend Emily is an avid runner and she recommended sets for me to increase my endurance and the amount of miles I’m running. It kinda kicked my arse. After the run, I came home and cooked dinner. The meal plan called for Honeydew Melon Salad and Oregano Shrimp.

I added some cous-cous and some spinach leaves because I was hungry! Chris and I are on a total couscous kick right now.

Green Tomato and Honeydew Melon Salad

(I left out the tomato and think I got a sprite melon on acident…FYI)

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons raw green (hulled) pumpkin seeds (pepitas) *I left these out as well
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1/4 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoon finely chopped seeded fresh jalapeño
  • 1 1/2 pounds mixed green tomatoes (not unripe), cut into 3/4-inch wedges
  • 1/2 honeydew melon, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup packed cilantro leaves

Directions:

Toast cumin in a dry small heavy skillet over medium heat, stirring constantly, until fragrant and a shade darker, about 1 minute. Transfer to a large bowl.

Add pumpkin seeds to skillet and heat, stirring constantly, until slightly puffed (be careful not to brown them), 2 to 3 minutes. Transfer seeds to a small bowl and stir in 1/4 teaspoon oil and salt to taste.

Whisk together cumin, vinegar, chile, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and remaining 2 tablespoons oil in large bowl, then gently toss with tomatoes, melon, and cilantro. Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds.

Grilled Oregano Shrimp

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano, crumbled
  • 1 small red onion
  • 24 peeled and deveined large shrimp (about 1 pound)

Directions:

Prepare grill for direct-heat cooking over medium-hot charcoal (medium-high heat for gas); see Grilling Procedure.

Stir together oil, oregano, and 3/4 teaspoon each of salt and pepper in a bowl.

Cut onion lengthwise into 3/4-inch wedges and separate layers. Toss shrimp and onion with oil mixture, then thread 6 shrimp onto each skewer, alternating with single layers of onion.

Grill shrimp, covered only if using a gas grill, turning once, until just cooked through, 3 to 4 minutes total.

After dinner I did some laundry and cleaned up a bit. I felt so much better being back on track and having things in oder. I guess I’m a creature of habit and routine. What makes you feel out of whack?

 PS. For those of you who actually use these recipes (thanks) but also I’m officially done with shrimp for a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

