An interesting food week so far…

Hello! It’s Wednesday, yay hump day 🙂 I promise I have been sticking to my running schedule and cooking meal plan but on Monday I was just too exhausted to blog and last night my laptop decided to act up on me. Get ready for a 2-day  post…

So Monday’s dinner was, how do you say? Interesting. If you recall I was going to make fried-egg Caesar salad with prosciutto bread-sticks. My husband-to-be was so nice to go grocery shopping but left the store with about half of the things I needed this week. I don’t blame him too much since the grocery list included items like fish sauce and ginger root but boy have I had to improvise over the last few days.  The Gazpacho turned out yummy and thankfully we had that as a precursor to the meal because I don’t know if my Fried-Egg Caesar Salad would have entirely filled me up.

The Gazpacho was thick and almost salsa-like but it was sooo good!

Instead of bread-sticks I had to use toast banquettes and instead of sun-dried tomatoes I just through in cherry tomatoes.  I don’t think this turned out the way it was supposed to but I don’t think I will try making it again either. Not bad, not great.

I can deal with Monday nights because of the Bachelorette. So I cozied up on my couch after my 2 mile run and grabbed a bowl of ice-cream. Can’t go wrong with vanilla-bean and chocolate syrup!

Tuesday was a busy, busy day. After work I had a meeting from 7-8 and when I got home I was starving. I should probably add that my meeting was held at Arby’s and while I was watching people eat their roast beef sandwiches and curly fries I was salivating. But I held strong because I was excited to try out a tofu recipe. I know, that’s a leap right? Roast beef lusting to Tofu? Tuesday’s dinner was originally scheduled for Wed. but with my meeting and getting home so late, grilling tilapia really wasn’t in the cards, so that is what I will cook tonight.

Spicy Thai Tofu with Red Bell Peppers & Peanuts

Let me tell you how good this was! I was impressed! I encourage you all to try this recipe. It’s easy and probably a good “first” tofu dish for those of you that are willing to try it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 large red bell peppers, seeded, thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 3 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 14-to 16-ounce package extra-firm tofu, drained well, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced on diagonal
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
  • 1 6-ounce bag baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1/3 cup lightly salted roasted peanuts

Directions:

Heat oil in wok over high heat. Add bell peppers, ginger, and garlic; sauté until peppers just begin to soften, about 2 minutes. Add tofu and green onions; toss 2 minutes. Add next 3 ingredients. Toss to blend, about 1 minute. Add spinach in 3 additions, tossing until beginning to wilt, about 1 minute for each addition. Mix in basil. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle peanuts over.

Once again I got this recipe of Epicurous.

I was unable to attend Group Power last night due to other obligations and I missed it. I am well aware of how that sounds and how lame I am, but I can’t help it. I am looking forward to getting in a class tomorrow before I leave for the beach.

Also, I’m almost finished compiling my list of yummy lunch foods to eat whether you are on the go or stuck in a cubicle. I hope to post some combinations tomorrow night along with how the Tilapia turned out 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. I like tofu, but I’m nervous to cook it myself… Maybe this was the inspiration I needed! Cute blog.

    Reply

    • OMG! I’m so excited to see your comment 🙂 You are my first blogger/non-family member or friend who has posted a comment! I just started this blog a few weeks ago but I’m having so much fun with it! I really like your’s as well and will be sure to follow it 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Megan Crocker on August 24, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    I want to see you try a tempeh dish… yummers!!!

    Reply

  3. […] I made some couscous separately and then in the wok through in some tofu (diced up) along with some red onion, red bell peppers, 2 Tbsp. of lime juice, salt and pepper and some spinach. Once everything was lightly cooked I added to the couscous and then decided to add some carrots and hummus just because I had a craving. If you are looking to find another recipe for tofu, try this. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

