So many voices!

Hey there! Now that it is Monday and I’ve painted  and can put that obsession behind me for a bit, it’s on to seriously training for this half-marathon both on the streets and in the kitchen. I feel like I should have some sort of “half-marathon” dish that is equivalent to crossing the finish line. Something that is really challenging to make that I can work towards…any ideas? What about something like this???

Source

Thanks to peanut butter runner I found this great tool to help me train. Using this Runner’s World Smart Coach application, I have a schedule to follow for the next 16 weeks that should prepare me for the race in November! I sure hope so because I feel so far away…

I’m so thrilled that so many of you commented on Friday’s post! It makes blogging so much more fun when other people are involved and it’s not me just spouting off about how I feel at the moment.

Here are some of my favorite responses:

“Baked Tilapia with corn salad (corn, red onions, tomatoes, olive oil, and white vinegar) last night.” (this sounds yummy right? Going to add this to one of my meal plans sometime soon!)

“Hope you are doing well and I will definitely visit on a regular basis as I am very much into food. And wine!!! I also do eat low carb so if you come across any good recipes, I’d love it! I found a great one for a flourless chocolate cake with raspberry sauce that is to die for.” (She had me at wine, low-carb recipes and healthy chocolate cake)

“Also ladies, since I have changed vocations, I’m looking for ideas on Lunches I can bring with me to work. Something that is quick, cheap, easy, and can be eaten with one hand while standing  lol…. I work in the mall now and have zero time to escape for a healthy lunch and am usually over what I packed for myself by the time lunch rolls around so I end up going to the food court for something BAAAAD!!!” (She gave me great motivation to search for healthy lunches for her, look for that post coming in the next few days!)

Thanks again for all the comments, ideas and questions! Keep em’ coming!

On to this week’s meal plan that I totally stole from Epicurious and will be adjusting a bit but I’m excited because it’s stuff I wouldn’t usually think to make! Hopefully there will more successes than failures 🙂

Monday

Gazpacho with herbs and chile/Fried-Egg Ceasar salad w/sun-dried tomatoes and prosciutto bread-sticks

Tuesday

Grilled Tilapia with Chimichurri (originally halibut) w/zucchini and snow-pea salad

Wednesday

Spicy Thai Tofu with Red Bell Peppers, peanuts and sesame rice  (I secretly just want to use my wok)

Thursday

Sautéed spinach with Buffalo salmon

Friday

Quick sandwich on the way to the beach.  Kim’s birthday weekend is finally here! Chris is sadly on his own for the rest of the week.

I’m happy to report the girls I’m going to the beach with are health conscious and active because we have yummy grilled veggies and fun bike rides and runs planned.  Can’t wait!!

***Also, before and after pics of the painting to come after lunch for anyone who is interested! Painting was definitely my weekend work-out and I have to say it was well-worth it!***

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on July 19, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Where are the pics of your new walls?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cathie on July 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    On that tilapia, make sure you don’t buy farm-raised as it is not that good for you and can actually cause inflammation. It is fed a corn-based feed which is not their natural diet and also hormones. Also, please read up on the dangers of soy (it isn’t the superfood we always have thought it is). If I get too annoying, just tell me to shut up! It’s just that I do a lot of research on nutrition and have cleaned up my diet considerably. I am very particular about where my food comes from. I know, I know – I’m weird!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

