Less Dining and Dashing, more Painting…

So there was very little dining and very little dashing in my weekend BUT I did get a good work-out in painting! Holy Moly painting is a pain! Actually, let me retract that…prepping is a pain! Painting wasn’t that bad but it took forever to get there. Even with help, it took pretty much all day. I do have some “Before & Afters” for you because honestly, painting was my work-out these past few days.

I apologize for the quality of pictures. My Sony Cybershot is not the best camera for taking pics for my blog but I can’t afford a really nice SLR yet 😦

BEFORE:

AFTER!

It’s amazing what a gallon of paint can do! With my new found living room, I decided to snag up a few items now that I don’t have to worry about clashing with Burnt Red (ps. everything clashes with bunt red). Here is my “how-to” on redecorating your living room in under $100 🙂 Actually I think with the paint, primer, tools and trinkets it was around a $60 makeover!

I got a nice rack to put on the wall as we walk in to carry my scarfs and purses. I always left my girlie stuff on the kitchen table or on the floor of my living room, but now it’s right by the door in a neat place, ready for me to grab on the way out!

T.J. Maxx…$9.99

Next you know I had to go to Ikea! It’s right down the street from me and I sware that is as good as Gold! I don’t know what I will do if we move somewhere where I don’t have this luxury. I picked up these cute blue decorative trinkets for cheap!

Ikea…$4.99

Ikea…$7.99

I felt like a kid in the candy shop when picking up items @ T.J. Maxx. It had been a while since I could choose a color palette…I have been really drawn to blues and greens lately so I picked up this table runner, along with a cute dish and dollar store candles to complete a put-together look for our dining room. The table runner was $12.99 and the dish was $5.99, both from TJ’s.

I put some of our saved corks (we collect them on our dates) to add some more texture and personality 🙂

After we painted all day the last thing we felt like doing was cooking so we went out to get burgers. They totally hit the spot. Sunday I picked up a shift at the salon to try and add to my beach fun spending money fund 🙂 Of course when I got home I wanted to put everything back up on our walls and spent the majority of the night just getting my house back in order! It was a mess after all the festivities this weekend.

For dinner we were both so whooped (and we had a major late grocery shopping trip) a frozen pizza was all we could muster up to make.

but we did get in our fruit with an awesome banana and strawberry smoothie. If you don’t have a blender, buy one. Sometimes I could actually drink my meal and be perfectly satisfied. Which is saying something!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on July 19, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I LOVE THE WALLS!!! Well done! It does look a lot bigger. And I just love the wall piece with the hooks. Dustin is making me something like that now!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tank on July 19, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    WOW!!! i’ll admit i didnt think there was anything wrong with the burnt red….until now. The new color LOOKS AMAZING! well done. It really opens up and brightens the room too. I especially like the table runner, pulls everything together nicely.

    So when you coming to paint my house?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

