Back to Basics

So after my disastrous Ravioli incident, I decided to take the cooking back to beginner status to build my confidence back up. I made “scrambled egg pasta” which is basically a quick and easy recipe for carbonara. Carbonara is a family favorite and was probably my first food love. This was quick, easy and DELISH. (ps. love my shadow…I need to get better at picture taking)

Recipe courtesy of epicurious.com

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • 8 slices thick bacon, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4  cups al-dente cooked pasta
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, beat together the eggs and cheese; set aside.

2. In a large skillet, fry the bacon and onion together until the meat is browned and crispy and the onion has begun to caramelize.

3. Add the pasta (if using cold day-old pasta, cook until it’s just warmed through, about 1 minute).

4. Pour the egg-and-cheese mixture into the skillet and reduce heat to low. Stir continuously until the pasta is coated with the eggs and they have begun to solidify.

5. Season with the salt and pepper, then serve immediately, with extra grated Parmesan on the side.

*Note the trickiest part of this recipe is the stirring of the egg/cheese mixture. You want the heat low enough where the egg cooks as a coating to the noodles, but doesn’t turn in to scrambled eggs.

After dinner Chris and I got in a discussion about what we think most people have for dinner on weeknights. I was complaining of being tired and having so much to do and he replied that I don’t need to cook the meals I do every night. He thinks most people just eat small dinners (sandwiches, soups, pre-made meals) during the week and then maybe make a nice dinner once or twice on the weekend. I think he is wrong 🙂 I think most people cook every night for dinner…what do you guys think?

What are you eating Monday through Friday?? I’d love to hear what some of your favorite dishes are so I can try them out!

I was a total slacker last night at Group Power. I was tired and I kinda of daydreamed through class.  I love that class but was just drained from the week most likely. I’ve started to enjoy the nights I run a little more too. Which brings me to my playlist! When I do decide to run with an ipod (most times I just cherish the peace and quiet) I like a mix of high-paced and low-paced music. It keeps my mind wandering on other things than the pain! 🙂

i-pod Playlist:

  1. Disco Biscuits-“On Time”
  2. Morgan Page-“Fade Away”
  3. XX-“Islands”
  4. Broken Bells-“The High Road”
  5. Brandi Carlile-“Dying Day”
  6. Keane-“Spirallling”
  7. Kings of Leon-“Closer”
  8. Morgan Page (ft. Camila Grey)-“One Day”

What are your working-out playlists? What pumps you up to push through?

I’m off to a John Mayer concert tonight with some friends. Looking forward to a fun night on the grass of Verizon! Painting on Saturday (FINALLY!) and Sunday I’m working.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tank on July 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    dude i think i’m going to make that dish tomorrow night thanks for the recipe….Phil will love you bc he loves pasta and i hardly ever make it due to the carb ratio.

    So for your discussion regarding weeknight meals. We do alot of grilling bc its easy and doesnt require a whole lot of planning. usually just thaw out protein–chicken, turk burgs, ribs, fish, whatever and throw it on the grill with some marinade and side of vegies in the micro. occassionally i get frisky and cook something like beef strog in the crockpot or chili. but we eat so late (like 9 or 10 some nights) that i try to keep it light. Also, making breakfast for dinner some nights helps change it up and its quick and easy (like aj’s mom, sorry had to get that in there) hope this helps with your discussion…

    Reply

    • I try and allow myself one night of carbs for dinner during the week(like a pasta dish) Generally I will do it on a day before we run, but this week I didn’t. Let me know if you make it and if you like it 🙂 Thanks for your input on what you guys cook throughout the week! I still want that beef strog recipe!! Nom nom nom….

      Reply

  2. During “fight training mode” my diet is pretty boring. But usually Megs and I eat chicken and veggies or fish and veggies for dinner. The fish is always baked and the chicken always grilled.

    We did mix it up a little bit this week and last. I made chicken fajitas in low carb tortillas. Sauteed the chicken in this sauce that was low calorie and low carb with onions, bell peppers, and mushrooms. Well, basically it was too latin for Megs and I, meaning it was so freaking spicy we were sweating while eating dinner. FAIL!

    Megs made chicken stir-fry. Chicken, stir fry veggies out of the frozen section, and the sauce sauteed up in a pan. Nom nom nom. The other night she made a bomb salad. Mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado, and grilled chicken on top. New fav that she makes of mine.

    Baked Tilapia with corn salad (corn, red onions, tomatoes, olive oil, and white vinegar) last night.

    This is kind of our routine during the week. Chicken, fish, or tofu. Lean protein and complex carbs with lots of veggies. However, I do have every intention to eat my heart out during Thanksgiving and Christmas time. Training will wind down, and I plan on being a happy fat kid. I will smother everything in gravy and eat my weight in yummy carbs.

    Hope this helps. However, I don’t think Megs and I are the “norm” for weeknight couples eating. So take this with a grain of salt.

    Reply

    • Chicken fajtas are one of our faves too! Next time you make it try topping it with some thinkly sliced cabbage, s&p and lime juice! So good! I love the idea of having tilapia with corn salad. I will have to add that to the mix for next week. I love tilapia and always looking for new ways to incorporate it in our weekly meal plan. Thanks for all the input! I had no idea Megs was feeding you so well 🙂

      Reply

  3. Posted by $D Money$ on July 16, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    My idea of ‘couples’ eating is a bit different since my other half is a 4 year old!! Lately I have been trying to get him to eat ‘new’ veggies and his favorite is grilled asparagus!! We usually do about the same thing for protein- either baked or grilled chicken and sometimes fish, but lately the asparagus has become a requirement!! I take about a handfull of fresh aspragus spears, drizzle with EVOO(so Rachel Ray I know) add some fresh garlic, s&p, squirt of lemon juice, and about a teaspoon of honey. Roll the aspragus around to make it happy, and let marinade for around 30 minutes and then grill(or bake) until slightly browned- OHHH its delicious!! Dillon can make a meal out of just that!!

    Also ladies, since I have changed vocations, I’m looking for ideas on Lunches I can bring with me to work. Something that is quick, cheap, easy, and can be eaten with one hand while standing 😉 lol…. I work in the mall now and have zero time to escape for a healthy lunch and am usually over what I packed for myself by the time lunch rolls around so I end up going to the food court for something BAAAAD!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Elena on July 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    When I have time to cook I love to bake… Especially fresh breads. When I’m pressed for time I make a lot of soups and stews, and black bean soup and potato soup are my favorites. I also love salads with homemade dressings and rice pilafs– the best pilaf is Afghan pallow (basmati rice, shredded carrots, lamb, cumin, and cinnamon).

    Reply

  5. Posted by Cathie on July 16, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Hey Claire! This is a great blog! And, believe it or not, I was going to ask for your mom’s carbonara recipe!! I will definitely make this one (with Dream Fields pasta). She has made it for me a couple of times and I just love it. Hope you are doing well and I will definitely visit on a regular basis as I am very much into food. And wine!!! I also do eat low carb so if you come across any good recipes, I’d love it! I found a great one for a flourless chocolate cake with raspberry sauce that is to die for.

    Reply

  6. Claire – your blog is looking great! So excited for you!

    You know I cook every week night but lately it’s been hard to fit everything in. We haven’t been eating until 9 p.m. Luckily, cooking is my stress relief and not a chore for me so I don’t mind it!

    I love making running playlists. Mine are always a random mix of music and a lot of times I listen to my BodyPump music to prepare for class while I run.

    Reply

    • Thanks Jenn! That means a lot coming from a professional 🙂

      Any advice on what went wrong with the ravioli’s??? That was a complete fail. Don’t feel bad, we don’t eat till 8:30 or 9 either!

      Truth be told, I love BodyPump music mixes 🙂 I’m jealous you get them on CD!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Andrea on July 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Does this pasta dish taste eggy? It looks really delicious to me but I am not a big fan of the actual flavor of eggs.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Cathie on July 19, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I think the pasta dish taste more of the bacon (or pancetta) and the parmesan cheese than it does of egg. You know us Italians – we never throw anything away and if it was pasta the night before, it will be incorporated into breakfast the next day! This dish is one of my very favorites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

