Ravioli-1, Claire-0

I don’t know about you guys but this week has been flying by for me and I”m glad that we are over the hump. As you might recall previously this week I posted the weekly meal plan and on Wednesday the menu called for Goat Cheese Ravioli, Bell Peppers and Brown Sugar. Sounds delish doesn’t it? Turns out…I can’t make Raviolis. In my “About Me” section I promised you guys the good, bad and the ugly. Today’s post is an ugly. They looked good when I was making them, in fact in my head I was kinda tooting my own horn, thinking this cooking thing isn’t that hard….

But just when I was about to get cocky, the Ravioli’s threw me a curve ball. I don’t know what happened between making them and boiling them. I let them boil for 4 minutes like the recipe suggested, but THIS is what it turned out like.

I don’t know if I should have filled them with more of the cheese mixture, or if they weren’t strong enough (was I supposed to double up the wonton wraps?) or if I boiled them for too long. Anyone know of any suggestions if I dare try it again?I need to be skool’d. Chris ate some and said they were good, but I”m pretty sure he only said that because he’s marrying me.

After the dinner massacre it was time for me to meet up with Linds for our Wednesday night run. I was actually looking forward to beating my disappointment out on the pavement. I decided to bring my camera along to show you guys what the bike path looks like. It’s so beautiful and we run it at night so it’s so much cooler and at the very end of the 3 miles we can start to see lightning bugs :

We did run into a bit of a snag caused by some of the rain we’ve had recently….

We could have run back and forth like some people were doing. I think this muddy water was at around the 1/2 mile mark but we decided toΒ  brave the wall and climb around it. The hilarity of this “roadblock” was reason to take a pic…that and Cody-Bobby is just so cute.

Here is one last pic on our way back that shows how the trees really protect you from the sun when we do run it during the day. Plus, they make for pretty scenery which is an added bonus when running long distances. Excuse the blurry pic, my hand must have been trembling.

…and this is what I feel like after we run, blood pumping, red-faced and exhausted (thanks Linds).

I always get back in the car and guzzle water and today I thought I”d snap a pic because my water bottle was one left over from the baby shower last weekend. So cute to have your own personal water bottles!

After I ruined dinner I only had time to grab an access bar and head out to the run. When I got back I was hungry but it was later than I usually like to eat so Special K it was for me! Sometimes a cold bowl of cereal is enough of a dinner and it’s easy clean up. Let’s just hope that tomorrow’s dish (Scrambled Egg Pasta) comes out better than tonight’s….

Tomorrow I will be posting about my favorite music to run to. I can’t wait to hear what your favorite playlists are and see what kind of genre pumps most people up πŸ™‚

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on July 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I’m so sorry about the ravies. Such a bummer—thanks for making me real hungry for dinner at 8:18 in the morning!!! I love you and love these posts!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Elena on July 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Did you use premade pasta? For ravioli homemade pasta works well (and is easy to make) but don’t follow a recipe for timing it… Always cook al dente. I use a fork to scallop the edges to keep it from falling apart.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chris on July 15, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    mmm, I had at least 5 of those after she left the house. YUMMIE, don’t judge a book by its cover. Good idea about scalloping the edges.

    Reply

  4. Raviolis are hard and time consuming! I applaud your attempt! I would never attempt to make them on a week night either, that is strictly a weekend recipe for me! If you have a food processor (I think I gave one to Chris for Christmas one year :)) and a pasta machine you can make your own pasta sheets (maybe a Christmas or Wedding gift :)), I think the wonton wrappers aren’t quite right.

    As for “real meals” versus “quick meals”, since we are all so busy during the week (and even though I am a stay-at-home mom) I generally make quick meals during the week and save big menus for the weekend. Fish is very quick and so are salads and homemade soup (as long as the broth is pre-made). Pasta, of course and grilling takes just minutes as long as you aren’t grilling brisket or ribs :).

    And regarding your paint choice, didn’t you get a tester first? Naughty girl :), Try a 4 X 4 foot block of it on a section of wall during the week and live wih it a couple of days. Time of day and lighting will make it change in front of your eyes. I painted two different color greens on adjacent walls and because of the angle/windows/lighting they both look the same. Paint is like that, you may like it in the store and then you get home and don’t have those fluorescent lights and it looks totally different.

    Just my two cents, btw, your run looks a lot like the res, but flatter :).

    Reply

    • You know how impatient I am πŸ™‚ I think it will be fine but I will def. use that tip when we own a home. Miss you!!!!! We should really just start our own business.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

