Fresh Starts!

Happy Monday! I know most people don’t like Monday’s, and I’m not that much of a freak where I look forward to them, but honestly I don’t mind them. If on Sunday I cleaned, did laundry, grocery shopped and got a good night’s sleep, Monday’s are a fresh start to a brand new week. My weekends are always different so I crave the structure of my work-week. Today was a good start…

After work I decided since there had been some stormy weather in Charlotte I should take advantage of the overcast sky and wet streets by going for a run. Chris has been training to run the half marathon with me and he’s kickin’ my butt. He does his normal 5 mile route these days while I’ve been sticking to my safe 2-mile. I really wanted to break out today and try and go for a longer run. I did around 3 miles pretty easily thanks to my access bars and my snack of bread with some Nutella. I honestly think people that don’t like Nutella are crazy. It’s basically chocolate people!

After the run I was hungry and thankful that the meal plan called for a grilled chicken salad. Light is what I was craving and I think people underestimate a good home-made salad. I didn’t grill it, instead I just pan seared it and threw in some red onion, red pepper, feta cheese, avocado and some grape tomatoes.

I have to say the best thing about this salad was the vinaigrette that I got off of skinnytaste.com.

Balsamic Vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 cup basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup chopped shallots
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Dessert was a bowl o’ cherries! I’m obsessed with these lately…

I’m sure you guys are tired of hearing about painting but I am having second thoughts on the paint I bought (Chris would kill me if he knew) I hope it doesn’t turn out to yelloweee. I keep staring at the paint dot on top of the cans and it’s driving me mad that I can’t just put it on the walls. That and my house is in disarray at the moment!

Welp, gotta go, the Bachelorette is on!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on July 13, 2010 at 2:35 am

    I’m psyched you put a recipe for balsamic vingerette!!! I have been meaning to find one. Thanks love! Keep up the good work;)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tank on July 13, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    nomnomnom nutelllllla…..and dont worry we’ll knock out 3 miles on Wed.

    Also, dumb question about the paint: did you get primer? I would do 2 coats to make sure the red doesnt show through. I’ve tried to paint 2 different rooms beige in the past and um FAIL. Both turned various shades of pink, just ask Jenny ahah.

    Reply

Leave a comment