Nesting.

I have an obsessive personality by nature. Sometimes when I get an idea in my head it’s enough to make my fiance go crazy. Recently I have become beyond preoccupied with decorating our home. We moved into our condo last October and while it was great to get out of an apartment, there are things that I don’t know why I didn’t see as red flags before we moved in. A prime example…our RED walls. At first it was a color I wouldn’t have picked but could live with but as the months have passed I believe it may be the cause for my demise. The red walls haunt me in my sleep and it feels like I live in a cave. I know this sounds a bit extreme, but they are horrendous. It started with the living room walls and then turned into new bedding somehow.

See what I mean????

I know it might not seem like a big deal and usually this kind of thing wouldn’t matter to me but I can’t help but feel like nesting ever since I got engaged. I am as surprised as anyone else that I’ve gone from celebrity blogs to DIY blogs. My all-time favorite being, younghouselove.com. They are single-handedly responsible for this behavior 🙂

I thought I would give you guys some before shots and then show you what inspiration shots I have picked out. I’ve been very careful to pick selections I would want in any home as we might be relocating when Chris finishes his Masters in December. The only thing that will not travel with us, is the paint.

Obviously you saw the living room, so here is what I’m going to try and re-create with some beige paint, blue accents and a nice new chair from Target…

Now here is our YELLOW kitchen. The kitchen doesn’t bother me as much but I think a nice sage green would be better fitting and calmer. Not much to do there, just paint and maybe pick up a few organizational items.  I could go as far as getting some new lighting fixtures, but not our house, so I won’t.

Here is what I think it can look similar to once the sage is on the walls. We have similar cabinet shades and we have the white windows with shutters and exact bar stools too!

Here is the bedroom. Not completely unfortunate but it’s kinda like the bedroom I had when I was in high-school.  We don’t want to invest in new furniture until we actually own a home, but a few minor adjustments  could turn this 8th grade bedroom into something a little more grown up. Don’t mind my clothes steam cleaner in the background, although I highly recommend. I never iron anything anymore!

Check out this picture I found! It even has the same wall color and the picture I have now above the bed is from IKEA just like this one pictured. I’ve priced it out and it’s very inexpensive to make these changes. A “make-shift” headboard, simple white bedding, a few new pillows and a throw from Target.

I didn’t get a picture of our office (or Chris’s man room) but I liked this picture and I’m a big fan of IKEA (obviously). I know I can get both our desks from there for a good price, a high-pile rug and wah-la! This will be the room that is most likely done last.

For now, Chris is not keen on us spending our money on house decorating, because he sees it as unnecessary. I have to agree, but it’s still hard to resist the urge. So I’ve agreed to do some part-time work if I want the things I’m after: garage sales, weekend shifts someplace, etc…

Let’s just say if I want something bad enough, I’ll find a way to get it and I don’t mind putting in the grunt work. Chris has agreed to let me at least paint the red living room this weekend so I will keep you posted on how the transformations are going! 🙂

OK, on to fitness and cooking! Last night when I got home I felt a strong desire to organize and clean. Every once in a while that will happen and I jump on it because sometimes when I take the time out to clean, I’m not feeling it.  I was even given more motivation to clean when my gym partner-in-crime, Dana, had to work late and couldn’t make it to Group Power. I decided to just do Jillian’s 30-day shred (30 minute work-out) and nix the gym and instead use the added time to purge my house. (I was literally scrubbing the tub at 11:30)

Dinner was a Burger on a wheat bun (I know what you are thinking…didn’t I have enough of those after July 4th?) The answer is YES, but it’s the end of the week and if you remember “meal planning” and grocery shopping were things I was lazy on last week and instead of doing a major shopping trip last night, I’m just going to go on Sunday like usual.  Plus, grilling is so nice in the summer, hardly any clean up! The burger was good and so was the Watermelon (I still have a ton!) and celery I paired with it. Easy Peasy…and more time to CLEAN!

I was excited that my Melaluca order came in the mail yesterday. For those of you who don’t know what Melaluca is, it’s a company that sells products that are all-natural, Earth friendly and awesome! On my last order I got Shampoo & Conditioner, Laundry Detergent, Spot Cleaner, eye cream (c’mon girls) and some Access Bars. You are supposed to eat them right before you work out to help turn your fat to energy. I’m going to try one out before I go for a run after work. A few miles on the trails of Latta is the perfect way to end a week.

Hope everyone has a great weekend and hopefully I will have some “after pics” for you on Monday 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carmen on July 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I like the idea for the new living room a lot. You are making me want to redecorate my house…which would make Wes go crazy!

    Reply

  2. Love all of the “inspiration pics”, kind of looks like our house :). Advice about painting the red walls, use Behr’s Premium Plus Ultra, it has primer in it so you don’t have to buy or roll on primer before you paint, worked great on our dark paneled walls. Remember the Pepto-bismol primer we used for your bedroom as a teen? A little more expensive than regular paint, but you save money and time not having to do primer first. You can get it at Home Depot. They also have small jars of tester colors to try too.

    Totally understand the frustration when you want a more polished house and new style. I am still looking at bare walls and rooms after the remodel ’cause no dough. Have fun painting!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tank on July 9, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Really like the color selections for the re-decorating effort! Sage green in a kitchen is my fav. And the picture for the bedroom reminds me of forks :), you know Edward and/or Jacob (cant remember which team you’re on now) doesnt come with the pic. 😉

    See you tomorrow for our run at Latta!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

