Four Days of July 4th!

OK, first off I want to let everyone know I did not fall off the face of the Earth! I know I haven’t posted anything in days but I’ve been super busy celebrating our national holiday and then dealing with a number of random occurrences that hindered me from touching base with the blogging world.

I guess I will start with July 4th! I love this holiday because it carries very little stress and is a reminder of exactly how good all of us Americans have it 🙂 It is usually a day filled with fun in the sun and of course fireworks. Chris and I spent the day doing just that, and I gave myself a get of jail free card and ate what I wanted all day. There was also many good beers consumed, one of which I’ve fallen in love with, summer solstice crema (made in California.)


On the food front there was plenty of barbecued food: hot-dogs, hamburgers, corn and several things to munch on including one delicious summer treat, watermelon. I ate loads of it (most likely due to the heat) and snacked pretty much all day long.

…and even allowed myself a brownie sundae, YUM!

Hope everyone had a great July 4th!!!

On to Monday where my plan was to clean, do laundry, meal plan, grocery shop and run. Ask me how many of those items I did….? None. For some reason I had absolutely no motivation to do anything and once again gave in to my laziness and decided to just soak up the last day of the 3-day weekend. Any guesses as to why I didn’t post anything on this day? (har har)

Tuesday I decided to get off the lazy train and after work I made it to Group Power. My body was aching for some exercise so I increased my weight on some of the tracks. It felt so good to get back in the gym that I decided to run a nice, quick mile after the class to end my work-out. Success!

After getting a nice rush from the gym I was excited to come home and make some meatloaf with potatoes and then of course blog about the outcome. I was a little disappointed when I came home to find our power turned off. Chris has been holding me accountable for managing our money and sadly I failed at this one. I am pretty sure I went for the Macy’s catalog on the kitchen table vs. the Duke Power envelope labeled “Important.” This is a prime example of why he is trying to teach me how to pay our bills. I don’t know what is more embarrassing, that I am horrible at it or that our power got turned off, even though we could pay our bill. After realizing we had nothing to do and I couldn’t cook, we settled on going to Chili’s for dinner. Quick, cheap and we were both in work-out clothes.

I’m a huge fan of their eggrolls and it’s too hard to resist ordering them so I splurged. I decided that I’d rather have a few bad appetizers and eat a low-cal meal than eat a high fat dinner. So that is what I did. I got the yummy eggrolls my heart desired but opted for a wheat wrap, minus the cheddar cheese and ranch and instead of fries I got steamed veggies. (I only ate 3, Chris and I shared them)

I have to admit it wasn’t that bad for 750 calories and it filled me up nicely. It’s amazing to me how good even less exciting meals can be when someone else makes it for you.

With electricity running through the house again and not cooking for what feels like a decade I was adamant about getting home and putting a meal together. I also really wanted to get a run in,  so Lindsay and I met at the bike path for our 3-mile loop. It felt great and it was my best run yet on that specific route. After the run I came home and finished making meat loaf with potatoes and spinach. It was a hearty meal and one I might prefer during colder months (total comfort food) but ground beef was on sale and honestly after a lot of research, I couldn’t find anything better than meat loaf to cook. We had already had plenty of burger fixin’s over the weekend…

Meatloaf with Spinach and Roasted Baby Potatoes

Recipe courtesy of Epicurious

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound baby Yukon Gold or Dutch yellow potatoes
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped crimini (baby bella) mushrooms
  • 1 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh sage
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 pound ground buffalo meat
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup tomato sauce, divided
  • 1/2 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)*
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed
  • 2 5-ounce bags fresh spinach

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°F. Toss potatoes with 1 tablespoon oil in medium bowl. Place on 13×9-inch rimmed baking sheet or roasting pan. Sprinkle with salt. Roast 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms and onion; sauté until mushrooms are beginning to brown and onion is translucent, about 4 minutes. Remove from heat; mix in sage and thyme. Cool slightly.

Mix buffalo, mushroom mixture, egg, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, panko, salt, and pepper in large bowl. Push potatoes to sides of baking sheet; shape buffalo mixture into 6×3-inch loaf in center of sheet. Roast 30 minutes. Combine 1/4 cup tomato sauce and red pepper in small bowl. Pour over top of meatloaf. Roast 20 minutes longer. Remove from oven; let rest while preparing spinach.

Heat remaining 2 tablespoons oil and garlic in large pot over medium-high heat. Add spinach, and toss until wilted, about 3 minutes. Season to taste with salt. Slice meatloaf; serve potatoes and spinach alongside.

Dessert was of course…some leftover wateremelon!

Tomorrow is Group Power and another home-made meal if I can help it! As long as there isn’t an excuse to splurge on foods for a holiday, a power outage and/or some other distraction, I should have some good home cooked meals to post in the coming days!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on July 8, 2010 at 3:51 am

    That meat loaf looks good, especially to a vegatarian!

    Love ya.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Carmen on July 8, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Very Nice!! Nice to see you back 😉 I wish i could have been around for the fireworks display this year 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

