Ode to Lime

I have been snacking like crazy lately and I’m assuming that it’s because I’ve been really active that last few weeks. I don’t want to eat junk obviously and honestly I think my body would reject it at this point but I am hungry constantly! It’s been challenging to find healthy foods to ease the hunger pains other than the obvious options (yogurt, granola, Lara bars, fruit, etc.) Anyone have any healthy snacks that they love that I can add to the line-up? I think I’m going to do some research to find some good on-the-go healthy options, so that I don’t get bored and revert to something I will regret later. I’ll let you guys know what I find!

I decided it had been long enough since I made chili-lime tilapia so I made it tonight. I have to put a limit on how much I make this dish because it’s one of my favorites and I want it to stay that way. I’ve been noticing that I’m putting lime in everything lately! It’s one of my favorite ways to kick a dish up a notch. This was one of the first recipes I made when I started cooking and one of the very meals that made me realize cooking could be fun and satisfying. I do feel the need to confess that the fish wasn’t pan seared the way I had hoped. This is due to the fact that I got talking on a long distance phone call to Bets (one of the besties). She can completely distract me, which she should take as a compliment because I pride myself on my multi-tasking abilities.

Chili-Lime Tilapia

recipe: courtesy of epicurious/bakinandeggs.com

For chile lime butter

  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped shallot
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated fresh lime zest
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh Thai or serrano chile (preferably red), including seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For fish

  • 6 (5- to 6-oz) pieces skinless tilapia fillet or farm-raised striped bass fillets with skin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Make chile lime butter:
Stir together butter, shallot, zest, lime juice, chile, and salt in a bowl.

Prepare fish:

If using striped bass, score skin in 3 or 4 places with a thin sharp knife to prevent fish from curling (do not cut through flesh). Pat fish dry and sprinkle with salt. (I dredged the fish in flour before putting it in the skillet to give it a flaky texture) Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over moderately high heat until just smoking, then sauté 3 pieces of fish, turning over once with a spatula, until golden and just cooked through, 4 to 5 minutes, and transfer to a plate. Sauté remaining fish in remaining tablespoon oil in same manner. Serve each piece of fish with a dollop of chile lime butter.

I recently read about the 30-day shred on the blog, Healthy Tipping Point, and it really intrigued me. I’m all for seeing results and quick. Patience is not one of my strong suits. I’m a bridesmaid in Betsy’s wedding in August and that is almost 30 days away (so excited!) so I think that will give me the extra motivation to give this a shot. I am going to attempt to do it everyday for 30 days, take measurements before and after and hope to see some results. I’m thinking of starting Monday so that if I need any alterations to my bridesmaid dress it won’t be pushing it too close. Stay tuned on whether or not I can stick to this crazy schedule while keeping up with my usual weekly routine! It’s gonna be tough!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on July 2, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Your welcome for my help;) I’m glad to see I am still useful to you half way across the U.S. You certainly have come a long way in your cooking abilities. Remember when I asked you to boil me some water? Ha ha;)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on July 6, 2010 at 2:26 am

    10 months to the wedding hard body. Love dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

