It’s Eclipse Night!

Hello! So each day this week has gotten better and better. I’m feeling more like myself (thankfully) and tonight was  Eclipse night! I hate to admit I am a Twihard, but I am.  It’s a sickness, I can’t help it. After getting home from work I took a power nap for about an hour. Work has been crazy hectic and my eyes just needed a break from staring at a computer all day. The DD running club decided it was every woman for herself because we thought it might rain, so we ran on our own before meeting up for the movie. I did my usual short 2-mile loop and it was easier after running with Linds all last week. I missed the company today so I took my back-up running partner…

Such a cutie she is 🙂 She loves to run but sometimes stops suddenly to sniff something or pee, (any idea on how I can keep her from doing that??) Still I did my usual 2 miles in around 19 minutes so I was happy with that.For dinner I wanted something simple since I knew I was heading to a late movie. I got this recipe off of real simple.com

Cheesy Shells with Broccoli

Ingredients

  • 3/4 pound medium pasta shells
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups grated Cheddar
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • kosher salt and pepper
  • 1 16-ounce package frozen broccoli florets

Directions

  1. Heat broiler.
  2. Cook the pasta according to the package directions.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the butter in a large pot over medium heat. Add the flour and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Whisk in the milk and cook, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened, 4 to 5 minutes.
  4. Add 1 1/2 cups of the cheese and stir until melted. Stir in the nutmeg, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1⁄4 teaspoon pepper.
  5. Add the pasta and broccoli and toss to combine. Transfer to a broiler proof 8-inch square or another 1 1/2-quart baking dish. Sprinkle with the remaining 1⁄2 cup of cheese. Broil until golden, 3 to 4 minutes.
I had a nice side salad with mushrooms, chopped red onions and some feta cheese on the side. I basically scarfed it down since I had to get to the movies. but it was goooooood!

PS. Eclipse was way better than New Moon!  I didn’t like the way they “Dinsney’d” it up with the last installment. Anyway, I highly recommend (Carmen) 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carmen on July 1, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I will try to see it as soon as possible..and i think your cheesy broccoli dish looks good so I wanna try that too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

