A Dehyrdated Weekend.

One of my favorite things to do during the summer is to go to concerts. This weekend I went to the Rascal Flatts concert with some girlfriends and we had a great time. With 94 degree weather, there were many Shock-Top beers consumed throughout the day and not enough water. No maintenance means I have a headache and feel pretty gross today. It’s always fun to have a night-out like that but for me they are becoming few and far between so recovering is hard.

The tailgating wouldn’t be complete without some good eats! To my delight there wasn’t anything too unhealthy. Marinda brought some great multi-grain “pin-wheels” filled with cream cheese and Tab made a really great salsa dip from scratch. My contribution was some fruit skewers which I thought added a nice balance and was a great cold food to snack on in the heat. *This is my last post using my phone for pictures! Yay.

After waking up this morning feeling a bit yucky and dehydrated, my body was craving a good breakfast. I went downstairs and immediately got to work on an omelet. I love omelet’s and usually just throw in whatever I have in my fridge at the time to make them. Today I added mushrooms, green peppers, red onion along with Monterrey Jack cheese and cheddar cheese. I had some extra fruit leftover from the tailgate skewers so I ate those as a side. I love to go to brunch and when I can’t I try to make my Sunday morning meals feel as much like a morning breakfast out as I can. Hence the champagne flute filled with O.J. πŸ˜‰

Today started off calm but quickly got busy. After breakfast I had a softball game to play in at 3:30. I’m in a league that plays every Sunday and if it weren’t so hot outside these days I’d probably enjoy it more. On a positive note it is a nice way to get some exercise in without thinking about it. After softball I went to Trader Joes. Grocery shopping got so much more interesting when they finally got a TJ in Charlotte! I love this grocery store. I grabbed all the items for our upcoming weekly dinners with an added bonus: the ingredients to the famous “Green Monster Smoothie.” Check out the movement here: http://greenmonstermovement.com/

I’m very excited to try this smoothie out. I plan on making one after my cycle class tomorrow morning so I will let you know if it is really good or not. With ingredients like, 2 cups spinach, ice, milk and a banana…I have my concerns πŸ™‚

By the time I got home I was exhausted from the 16-4 defeat and errands so tonight’s dinner was a quick dish courtesy of Giada. Pasta with Red Pepper, Almonds and Breadcrumbs. Nothing special at all, but it was easy and I was tired.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound pasta
  • 3 cups purchased garlic-flavored croutons, (about 5 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds (about 1 ounce), toasted
  • 1 cup julienned roasted red bell peppers
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain pasta into a large bowl.

Place the croutons and the almonds in a food processor. Pulse until it becomes the texture of bread crumbs. Add the crouton and almond mixture to the hot pasta. Add the peppers and the olive oil. Toss to combine and serve.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carmen on June 29, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I am so proud of you keeping up with this blog so well..i enjoy reading it everyday. It makes me feel not so far away πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Thanks my favorite mama! It really means a lot. You should check out “My Favorite Blogs” on the page too. They are really, really good! I miss you TONS and cant’ wait to hold my little Stone!!!!!!!! PS. What’s up with July 4th weekend?

      Reply

      • Posted by Carmen on June 29, 2010 at 6:33 pm

        I am waiting on my dad to get back to me..you know how he is. I’ll call him tonight and talk to him again.

Leave a Reply

