Here We Go…

I am really excited about starting this blog! While it is a little intimidating (have you seen some of the other healthy living blogs out there?) I am giving it my best shot and hoping to find comfort in all this eventually. I’m dying to start a post so even though I don’t have my trusty camera with me at the moment I settled for a picture with my blackberry. Don’t worry, the quality will get better, I promise.

The one thing I truly love about summertime is grilling. Not that I have ever personally grilled before this season, but eating grilled food is a favorite past time! I figured since I was starting to learn my way around the kitchen, why not give grilling a try?  One of the best grilled meals for me is a kebab. Classic and easy. I figured I would try a recipe I found on MarthaStewart.com and see what happens. I’m pleased to say that I did a good job my first time out. After watching my fiance build the charcoal grill numerous times I had no problem setting everything up. In the kitchen I made my kebabs and then took a nice pale ale beer out with me once I was ready to sit and wait. My Dad has always taught me, the key to grilling, is to never leave the grill. So that is what I did. Sat, turned, sipped…sat, turned sipped…and to my delight, they were delish!

Grilled Greek Chicken Kebabs with Mint-Feta Sauce

Ingredients:

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into twenty-four 1-inch peices

1 zucchini, halved lengthwise and cut crosswise into sixteen 1-inch pieces

1/2 small red onion, quartered, layers separated (I substituted red onion for white onion and added a red bell pepper)

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon dried oregano

3 tablespoons red-wine vinegar

Coarse salt and ground pepper

1/2 cup crumbled feta (2 oz.)

1/4 cup plain low-fat yogurt

1 cup fresh mint leaves

Directions:

In a resealable plastic bag, combine chicken, zucchini, onion, oregano and 2 tablespoons vinegar; season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and teaspoon pepper. Marinate at room temperature for 30 minutes (or refrigerate up to overnight).

Heat grill or grill pan to medium. Soak eight, 6-inch wooden skewers in water for 15 minutes.

Onto each skewer, alternately thread 3 pieces of chicken with 2 of zucchini and 2 of onion. Grill skewers, turning occasionally, until chicken is cooked through, 12 to 14 minutes.

Meanwhile, make a dipping sauce: In a food processor, blend feta, yogurt, mint and remaining tablespoon vinegar until smooth. Serve kebabs with dipping sauce.

In other news, a vendor supplied our E-marketing department with cupcakes as a sort of apology for some mix up. While I am an advocate for making healthy eating choices, I don’t turn down cupcakes, especially from Polka-Dot. I didn’t beat myself up too badly for it. It is mid-week and I have managed to run at least 5 miles since Sunday. Did I mention I”m obsessed with trying to become a better runner? It is not for the faint of heart. Running is tough.

Tomorrow is Friday and I hope to run the bike path with Lindsay after work, if we can survive the heat. Charlotte has been unbearable as far as the weather goes lately and it’s making it harder and harder to run outside.

What are everyone’s plans for the weekends? Any fun meals or activities planned??

2 responses to this post.

  1. Awesome! When we get back from our trip we’ll have to try the kabobs. I am sure we will have a funny story about food when we get back! Wish you were with us, keep up the running!

    Reply

  2. Posted by gregorymorton on June 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I am so proud of you, you are a great role model for your siblings and for me! Eat right, do the maintenance runs in the week and just add a 1/2 mile before turnaround on the weekends (net 1 extra mile) and I promise you’ll get to 13!

    Love you.

    Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

